Welcome

WELCOME to the very first blog of the New Zealand Poetry Box for children.

The blog will be a meeting place for children, teachers, parents, writers and readers who love reading and writing poetry for children.

For the next two years I will dedicate myself to poetry for children. I will be busy editing an anthology of poems for children, writing poems, visiting schools, organising events, sharing information.

I will post poems by children each week.

I will stage a competition once a month.

I will post poetry tips and poetry challenges each week.

I am happy to post children’s letters about poetry.

I am happy to be interviewed by children.

I will talk about children’s poetry books I love (old and new).

I will post some of my own poems for children.

I will post details of New Zealand poetry events for children.

I will interview authors who write poetry for children.

ps A big THANK YOU to Sarah Laing for designing the gorgeous header and to Random House.

8 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Elizabeth

    Sounds a great plan. Can I suggest that when the first poem(s), comments from you are up that you send a ‘in action’ email is sent. At this stage – you have indicated what will be (great). What is your timeline for the next steps?

    Reply
  2. Paula Green Post author

    I plan to post tips, challenges and children’s poems on a weekly basis. I will host a competition once a month but for the next two months I am hosting A Fabulous Poetry Competition for Children. I will post details of this later today. I will post book reviews, children’s letters as and when when books and material comes in. I will post an interview with a children’s author once a month. I will take up your suggestion of an in-action email. Thanks!

    Reply
  3. Michelle Ballard

    Hi Paula,
    At the English dept meeting at school yesterday one staff member shared the big Anthology book that had your poems in it. I shared your one with them ‘Waitakere Ranges’ and a couple of staff members were interested in some of your other work. Today they have both sent me the link to this new blog – it looks great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

