Alarm clock poetry challenge

I am in Wellington. Last night I had a lovely launch for my new book. So it is time for me to head back home and get back to work on the children’s poetry anthology. Time to get back to reading all your fabulous entries. It’s a huge job so you will have to be patient.

In the middle of last night(10 to 3) in my hotel room the alarm went off and woke me up. I couldn’t find the light switch or the clock and couldn’t figure out to turn it off. Ten minutes later it did it again.

It gave me the idea for a poetry challenge. I first pictured a little poem with an alarm clock going off in the middle of the poem. But I also thought it could be quieter! I like the idea of a poem with a little surprise in the middle. It might be a change, a surprise, an unexpected word or thing or change. It might be something that is not what you first thought … Or a mood change.

Have a go at an alarm-clock poem and send it to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year, name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email if you like. Have fun.

Here is the poem I wrote in my head at 3 am:

Reading

I am following the path
up the hill, steep, steep.
I am following the girl
to the wounded animal
turning the page
of Mortal Fire
turning the page
not sure what
will happen next.
Then from between ‘the’
and ‘path’ a little
black ant scurries off
the edge of the book,
and I follow the girl
back down the hill
puffing, puffing
to get help.

PS Mortal Fire is Elizabeth Knox’s new novel to be published by Gecko Press in June.

Leave a Reply

