This Week on NZ Poetry Box and Cats, Cups & Old Socks

Ata marie! I have spent all weekend reading your poems and then reading them again. What joy! You now have the memory-poem competition to work on so I am very excited to see how you go with that challenge. Today I will give you some tips on writing memory poems that have things in them. On Tuesday I will do another memory poetry play (you are going to help me write a poem!), on Wednesday I will tell you about a poetry book on my shelf I love, on Thursday I will share a memory poem with you, and on Friday I will give you some tips on how to use punctuation in poems.

Poets love to put things in poems: cats, cups, old socks, cracked footpaths, trees begging to be climbed, squeaky whistles, shiny windows, Japanese kites.

When you put a thing in a poem it lets the poem steal a bit of the real world and makes pictures grow.

When you put a thing in a poem it can help build a mood or a feeling or an idea.

When you put a thing in a poem it can muster up a memory for you and for the reader (different memories of course)!

Try hunting for a thing to put in a poem. It might something at your Nana and Granddad’s place that you remember. Imagine you are looking in their house with your camera — what will you take a photo of? What thing do you like there?

It might be a thing you remember from a place you have visited (the zoo, the park, another city, someone else’s house, another country, the beach, the bush, the sports field).

It might be a thing you liked to play with when you were little (I remember a yellow puppet called Sooty).

It might be a thing you remember from when you first started school (I remember the windows at my first school; they were so high I couldn’t see out of them!).

It might be something you remember used to be on a teacher’s desk.

A poetry memory game: you (or someone) can make a list of things and then see if you can find a memory in one of them. Use that memory to write a poem.

shoes        apple     teddy     car     door     mud     clock    cheese

pot     fence     chair    torch   bucket    ladder   train    steps    ball

 

If you try any of the memory poems in this post send one to me at paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email if you like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

