You never know when you will find a poem

This is what happened to me this morning. I am really, really, really busy at the moment so this is a first draft and I will save it for later (no time to write poems when I am editing a big book!). My poem hasn’t even got a title yet!

This morning I had the rain

and the grey all to myself

on the beach, black sand

dimpled clean.

Driving home, a loose

horse was on the road,

so I had to catch its muddy

lead, and find somewhere

to take it in the middle

of nowhere.

 

Our dogs were born

in a stable and went mad

for the smell

of horse on my trousers.

Leave a Reply

