radio. mountains. food. similes. whoosh I’m off!

Greetings poetry fans

I am off to the South Island today to walk and ski, and walk and see a glacier or two. So I may not have much internet access until later on next week. (So maybe you will see some mountains instead of the same old beach photos!)

Yesterday I had a great chat with Kathryn Ryan live on National Radio. It is really strange sitting in a small room with ginormous headphones on and talking to some one you can’t see, It makes you really concentrate on what the person is saying. She does it all morning and is really good at it. When I was driving home I thought of all the things I could have said. A radio is not like a first draft when you write. You can’t fill in and edit. But the general idea was that children’s poetry is a wonderful thing to be involved with as both reader and writer, teacher or parent.

You can listen to the interview here:

http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/ninetonoon/audio/2560115/children%27s-poetry.

Meanwhile you have until next Thursday (July 4th 6pm) to send me your food poems with a simile. Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. You may include your teacher’s name and email if you like.

If you are new to this blog you always check back through the poetry challenges and send me in a poem (click on poetry challenges in the sidebar). I always write back to children who do the challenges and I post my favourite poems. I can’t post everything so if you miss out try again. (That’s what authors do, keep writing and keep sending!)

Leave a Reply

