Breakfast and books in one delicious gulp ….. mmmm!

Yesterday I visited Blockhouse Bay Primary School (thanks to the NZ Book Council) as they are having their Book Week and it was such a fabulous visit I want to share it with you.

We started off with a newish initiative called Books n Brekkie. By the time I arrived the room was packed with parents, children and teachers eating toast and drinking hot chocolate with marshmallows.

IMG_3610 IMG_3602 IMG_3601 IMG_3603

I stood on a chair in the middle of it all and talked about some of my favourite new NZ children’s books, gave a quick behind-the-scenes tour  of my books and then read some of my poems, old and new.

It felt very buzzy, very warm, and the room filled with good feelings about books. Bravo!!

After that it was a full school assembly where three librarians interviewed me on stage (and did  a great performance of my poem ‘Where The Mild Things Are’). The librarians (Rhea, Celesti and Nethra) asked really thoughtful questions.  I read some poems and a group acted out a story. Very entertaining!

IMG_3627 IMG_3626

For the rest of the day I did interactive sessions with syndicates and finished up with a workshop with the writing group.

Mandy Barrett must be a School Librarian extraordinaire as she worked hard to make this an exciting and innovative week. So huge congratulations Mandy and a big hug from me. I walked out of the school aglow with poetry.

Here are two poems we made up in the Year 3 and 4 sessions (several hundred students I think):

Elephant

Humungous giant

stomps like an enormous beast

wrinkly

like an old grandpa

like a big slow slug

fat

massive, majestic, mammal

The Golden Lion Tamarin

The golden lion tamarin is

a shiny golden ticket

a bunch of passionfruit

hard delicious carrots

golden kiwifruit

beams like the sun

a squished orange

priceless as a golden cup

golden syrup.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast and books in one delicious gulp ….. mmmm!

  1. Celesti

    Hi Paula Celesti. Hope you are well. Thank you so much for visiting Blockhouse Bay Primary it was so much fun interviewing you and hearing you speak about your favourite books. 🙂

    Kind Regards
    Celesti

    Reply

Leave a Reply

