Holiday poetry bonanza: sky and bread

I like the way Ewen has used a proverb in this poem. Maybe there are other proverbs you could play with in the form of a poem. Give it a go and send me one!

Hi Paula,

Here’s a poem I wrote about what the sky looks like today. I used the proverb

“the sky is the daily bread of our eyes” at the end to make the poem have something different in it.

I hope you enjoy reading it!

The Sky

The sky was blue
tinged with white.
The sun broke through
and shone out light.

My eyes lit up
with the sky.
That little picture
way up high.

The sky is something
you cannot buy.
It’s the daily bread
of our eyes.

Ewen W aged 10, Year 6, Fendalton Open Air Primary School

Leave a Reply

