Sometimes sonnets are something special and I say yum

Sonnets are a kind of poem that have been around for a long time. They have gone in and out of fashion but poets have never stopped writing them. Hundreds of years ago two very famous poets invented two different ways to make sonnets: Shakespeare in England and Petrarch in Italy.

Sonnets always have 14 lines. They used to have a rhyme pattern that poets stuck to (Shakespeare’s way and Petrarch’s way). Nowadays poets sometimes stick to a rhyme pattern but often they use NO rhyme at all.

They used to have a kind of beat called iambic pentameter that is a bit like walking. So the beat goes strong foot, soft foot, strong foot, soft foot. LIke this: I saw a duck swim up the creek and flap.

Sonnets used to be a kind of love poem but today they can be about anything.

Here are my tries at sonnets. The first one doesn’t rhyme but the second one does. I have made my own beat:

A Sonnet About My Dogs

My dogs are fast asleep in the sun —

the black one dreaming about toast

and the brown one dreaming about running

along the beach and chasing gulls.

If I wake them they will want to play

rugby with me or race up the hill

to check the mail, so I let them sleep

on and on, their tails twitching.

One day we will go out the gate

past the sheep and the cows

and the dogs will leap and spin

and make such an almighty din.

But back at home my dogs will flop

on the ground and watch me write.

 

A Sonnet About My Dogs

My dogs are fast asleep in the sun —

the black one dreaming about toast

and the brown one wanting to run

and chase gulls along the coast.

If I wake them they will want to keep

playing rugby with me, or they will be itching

to check the mail, so I let them sleep

on and on, their tails twitching.

One day we will go out of the house

and the dogs will leap and spin

past the sheep and the cows

making such such an almighty din.

But back at home my dogs will flop

on the ground and chew my socks.

 

ps Our dogs aren’t allowed in our house but I needed a word to  rhyme with cows.

They do get to go in Michael’s studio though and watch him paint!

 

Leave a Reply

