Kiran’s burger goes crazy and other poems

Whenever I visit a school I always give students writing challenges.

After speaking to the Year 7 and 8 students at Balmoral School, Kiran went away and tried all my challenges! I thought that was pretty awesome and loved reading the poems. I am posting my favourites. Great job Kiran!

 

One challenge was to try writing a poem with a line that repeats (after my poem ‘The Panda is on the Loose’).

 

The burger has coming alive

it’s spitting out gherkins and mustard,

the burger has come alive

it’s eating the pepper and salt pots,

the burger has come alive

its hopping on the tables and chairs,

the burger has come alive

Aaaarrgghh chomp-a-chomp-a-chomp,

the burger has been eaten.

 

 

Another challenge was to try writing a poem with made up words

 

Fwhoosh,sssssssss,

kaboom-fling-crrrrr-crash,

clang, clong, cling-flizzzzz

kkkrrrrrrrrrrrr-bang – owww!!

 

[Keran says this is supposed to be a contraption gone wrong].

 

 

A third challenge was to play with rhyme (this was Keran’s favourite):

 

I was fighting a wizard

when I slit open his gizzard

and looked in disgust,

only to be knocked out

by a cold-lizard and awoken,

locked-outside in a bold blizzard.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

