‘The last chance to make it’ and Esther’s first poem

I thought I would post the two poems that won the Bring a Poem to Read competition at Storylines.

 

This was Ruby’s. She is in Year 5 and goes to Oratia Primary School. She read it beautifully. I thought her poem had great movement.

The Last Chance to Make It

Sweat dripping

clawing for the ball

ball in my hands

I release the ball

the ball flies through the air

I watch breathlessly

the last chance to make it.

 

This was Esther’s first poem. She is 6 and goes to Churchill Park School. It sounded really fun read aloud.

 

Here comes Santa Claus

in his sleigh

 

‘Ring ring ring’ go

the reindeer’s bells

 

dropping presents

everywhere.

Leave a Reply

