A second letter about poems: I can make poems bubble and giggle

I really agree with Emily that poems don’t have to have rules and boundaries. But you can invent (or copy) rules for a poem and that can be fun too! Thanks for your thoughts Emily, I enjoyed reading them.

Dear Paula

We are learning Tanka poems at our school,
I wanted to use five poetry techniques in my poem
  • Alliteration
  • Personification
  • Metaphor
  • Similie
  • Onomatopoeia
For Tanka I have to follow a syllable pattern,  5 7 5 7 7
this is what I came up with
Bouncing blossoms fly
Grass giggles beneath my feet
Lambs like babies, cry
Spring is like sweets, addictive
“Swoosh swoosh” birds painting the sky
I even got it  to rhyme with fly, sky and cry
but are you allowed rhyming in Tanka?
What I like about writing poetry is I don’t have any rules or boundaries.
I can make poems bubble and giggle and I can make poems that make me cry.
Writing a poem is like composing music, you can change the beat, tempo, cadence, anything!
So long as it fits your mood.
But sometimes I just like writing poems
By Emily 
age: 11
year:7
school: Ohaupo School

Leave a Reply

