Try writing a poem and using a word or two from another language or Stomp!

There are two challenges today and you have three weeks to do them. Deadline: Thursday 7th November 5pm.

stomp

Firstly a challenge for young poets (aged 6 or under) and to celebrate the magnificent book by Ruth Paul, Stomp! I want you to write a little poem using the word ‘stomp.’ You can use that word more than once and you can use any other words you like. Thanks to Scholastic I have a copy of Stomp! for my favourite poem. I will tell you all about the book on Thursday.

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email address.

Secondly a challenge for students up to Year 8. I want you to write a poem with at least one word in it that is not English. I will give you lots of tips and starting points on Wednesday, but even if you don’t think you know another language you probably know Maori words, and names of food from other countries (spaghetti!) for a start.  Your poem can be as long or as short as you like, but do listen carefully to the SOUND of it! Have fun!

The winner will get a copy of my book Flamingo Bendalingo (unless you have it and I will choose something else).

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email address.

myvillagecovcase:Layout 1

One thought on “Try writing a poem and using a word or two from another language or Stomp!

  1. Pingback: This week on Poetry Box: I thought I’d show you some things I love | Poetry Box

Leave a Reply

