Reading Festival: Jack’s (9) poem says a book is like a venus fly trap (among other things!)

Jack has found some great  similes to show what reading a book is like. It really shows what a wide and exciting activity reading is. I really enjoyed your poem thank you!

Hi Paula

I have written you a poem about books for the reading festival competition. It explains and compares my feelings about books.

My Book

My Book is as breath-taking as bungy jumping over a deep river.
My Book is like a tree; its story growing every night.
My Book grabs me like a venus fly trap and pulls me down into its pages.
My Book is something I look forward to; like being with a special friend.

from Jack, Year 5 (age 9), Fendalton Open Air School

 Thanks

2 thoughts on “Reading Festival: Jack’s (9) poem says a book is like a venus fly trap (among other things!)

  1. Pingback: Spot prizes for the Reading Festival | Poetry Box

Leave a Reply

