playing with two words on a line is fun — here’s a challenge for you

I loved playing with sounds in the poems for my new book coming out with Scholastic in August this year (The Letterbox Cat and other poems).

I had such fun writing poems with only two words on a line. The second word would stay the same but I kept changing the first word. I kept playing with the order, the alliteration and the rhymes. Sometimes they rhymed and sometimes they didn’t.

I will save the one in the book for when that comes out!

 

But you could try with cat:

Black cat

white cat

fat cat

striped cat

chatty cat

light cat

tracking cat

flighty cat!

 

or you could try tree:

 

Tall tree

bending tree

tiny tree

blossom tree

tough tree

balloon tree

totara tree

bees’ tree

 

 

I have fun making patterns with the first word when I do a poem like this. It can be simple or tricky.

 

Use any second word you like. Try a few then pick your favourite to send me.

 

Give it a go. You can enter it in the first sound poem competition if you like.

 

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email address if you like.

 

Have fun!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “playing with two words on a line is fun — here’s a challenge for you

  1. Ella Speers

    Hi Paula.My name is Ella and I have entered and enjoyed writing poetry and publishing it on Poetry Box last year. This year I am a year nine and now go to Cambridge High School. I was wondering if I am still allowed to enter your competitions? Also, I know you only do poetry, but if you have some poets who are TRULY passionate about poetry or just writing altogether, you could post this link to a publishers guide for children. I have been writing a 180 page novel, which is why I haven’t been on Poetry Box much over the Summer holidays, and am going to publish on KIdPub. Here’s the link. You may just want to post it so that the subscribers to PoetryBox can publish their writing if they want to. http://www.kidpub.com/publish-my-book

    Ella

    Date: Fri, 7 Feb 2014 01:00:33 +0000 To: ellaandhergwogs@hotmail.com

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      Lovely to hear from you Ella. I remember you from last year. Unfortunately Poetry Box is only for students up to Year 8. Last year I tried to start a slot on Poetry Shelf for students. I wanted to post a poem by a secondary student on the last day of every month but for all the work I put into it — it did not take off. So have ditched it. I will however occasionally publish a poem I come across that I particularly love.

      Congratulations on your novel writing. That is wonderful! And for the link. best wishes for your writing in the future. Keep in touch!

      Regards

      Paula

      Reply

Leave a Reply

