On poetry: Gemma says, for me poetry is something that frees your thoughts

Here are the pieces from the young poets I told you about yesterday. Read them and then see what you can come up with. You can write anything from ONE sentence to a paragraph.

 

On Poetry from NZ Poetry Box fans

 

Poetry is descriptive writing

that sometimes rhymes.

It’s very, very hard to write

but easy to read!

I like poems that are funny

and make me laugh out loud.

by Izak (9) Russley School Christchurch

 

For me poetry is something that frees your thoughts.  If you are down it always brings you up.  If you are already up, it lets you fly.  I especially like nonsense poems, and poems that play with words.  Because in poetry you are allowed to make up strange words and have rhymes that don’t quite rhyme, like ‘chicken flicking.’ It’s fun!

Gemma (8) Adventure School Wellington

 

I like poems that tell a story, have meaning and make me crack a code! I like to be drawn in by the words and think more deeply about the topic. I also like poems that make me laugh because they are silly or sound silly when you say them.

Writing poetry makes me happy because it inspires me to use expressiveness and to put my thoughts into words I wouldn’t normally use. The poems I have written that I really like are ones that have either rhyming lines or a rhythm, or where I have used words that challenge the reader to wonder what I mean, like a puzzle to be solved!

To me, poetry is a must to read and fun to write.

Jack (9) Fendalton Open Air School Christchurch

 

Sometimes I memorise poems I really enjoy, like the Highway Man. I like reading all kinds of poetry, short ones, long ones, rhyming ones, describing ones—they are all awesome!

Sylvia (13) now at Secondary School! Auckland

 

Reading poetry takes you over the rainbow into a magical world where anything can happen. It makes you feel happy, sad, confused, calm…like you can do anything.  But it seriously depends on the type of poetry you’re reading.

Vivian (9) St Kentigerns Girls’ School Auckland

 

 

DEADLINE for your What is a Poem Challenge: Wednesday April 16th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the What is a Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for one poet.

2 thoughts on “On poetry: Gemma says, for me poetry is something that frees your thoughts

  1. Sylvia Orr

    Hello Paula Green, Thank you so much for posting my comment! It was very nice of you. From Sylvia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

