Try writing a poem about poetry * ! * ! * ! wooo hoooo * < <

Jack had a go at writing some poems about poetry when I asked him to send in something for my new book The Letter Box Cat. Sometimes I like to do this too!  Jack is in Year 6, aged 9 and goes to Fendalton Open Air School in Christchurch.

So …. why don’t you have a go at writing a poem that is about poems or poetry .. reading or writing them!

I might have another go too!  I wrote one to go in the front of A Treasury of New Zealand Poetry for Children so you can see that in October!

Here is one of  Jack‘s poems:

 

Poetry is…

Letters flowing

Words connecting

Ideas storming

Lines forming

 

Stanzas rhyming

Verses grouping

Unique thinking

Poem growing

 

Worldly being

Brain turning

Secret meaning

Fingers burning

The Finish Line.

 

DEADLINE for your What is a Poem Challenges: Wednesday April 16th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. Homeschoolers are welcome! PLEASE say it’s for the What is a Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for one poet.

23 thoughts on “Try writing a poem about poetry * ! * ! * ! wooo hoooo * < <

  1. Erin

    Hi, this a poem about poetry

    POETRY
    Poetry is for everyone
    it’s funny, cool and lots of fun
    It makes me cry, it makes me laugh
    It tells the tales of poor old baths

    Its sad, happy and awesome too
    Oh poetry where would I be without you

    Reply
      1. Suejin

        I was just reading your book, ” dear heart ”
        I love your poem called Lemon tree.
        Poems makes me feel relaxing, tearful, and interesting too.
        So, here is a poem that I made for you……
        ” Poetry. it’s wonderful.
        Ideas flow from everywhere, dazzling and swaying around our minds.
        It can be a tragedy or a sparkle of gold, making us feel great. ”
        I hope you enjoy it, and leave me a comment.

  2. Nicholas

    ink hits paper as I begin to write
    tales of the sea begin to rhyme
    through night and day I prevail
    to write the endless tale
    The poem I am writing
    swarms my thoughts
    longer and longer time flies
    until the pen stops writing
    silence echoes through the room
    before the yells of joy
    about the success has come around

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      Reply
  3. mark

    poetry is awesome
    poetry is cool
    poetry is a way to express yourself
    poetry is very entertaining
    and poetry is boss

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      Reply
  4. Oliver

    Poetry is magic said with words
    Flowing through the air
    As it creates smiles
    Makes us laugh
    It’s for everyone who seeks fun
    It will tell you anything you want
    As it makes you brain twist
    They make you bite your nails
    What would I feel like without poems

    Reply
  5. isabella

    Isabella

    hi this is a poem about poetry

    ideas flow onto the page, like a the breeze in the early morning.
    your pen is spreading ink like a bird with its wings.
    suddenly the page is filled with your words of inspiration.
    and then you have created a

    master peace!

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      Reply
  6. Fiona

    Hello! this is a poem about poetry

    Poetry

    Poetry can be sad or happy
    A swift of wind then ideas came
    but suddenly, it’s gone……..

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      You need to email me your poem. If you look at the bottom of the post you will see my email address and the details you need to include for the challenge! Thnaks for sending it to me.

      please tell your class you need to email the poems

      Reply
  7. serge

    Poetry is ….
    Letters connecting to words pulling readers to its story.
    Letting out its emotions …
    That is what poetry is.

    Reply
  8. SAMMY AND LAURA

    P-aula writes amazing poems
    A-mazing, inspiring, interesting
    U-sing adjectives
    L-iving the moment
    A-dverbs, alliterations
    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

