on the way to school TURNS into poems

9781869790097-1   9781869790097-1   9781869790097-1

This was a fun challenge and I have picked two poems about ‘on the way to school’  to post.

Congratulations! I am sending Daniel a copy of my book The Terrible Night because it is all about a cat. I loved the idea of patting cats all the way to school Daniel. Your poem reminded me of how Margaret Mahy could take a  spark of an idea and a dash of imagination and a sprinkle of sparkly words and get a poem! Just as you have done. And I do love the rhythm and energy in Gemma’s poem.

On The Way to School

Pedalling fast

I go whizzing past

The bus at the end of our street

 

It’s not very far

You don’t need a car

But I prefer wheels, to feet

 

I race to the gates

To find my mates

At the place where we usually meet

 

But wait! Oh no!

In my hurry to go

I forgot to get something to eat!

Gemma L, aged 8, Year 4, Adventure School, Wellington

 

I Meet Cats

On the way to school

I meet cats

 

They come out to play

It’s great!

 

I stop every day

To pat them all

 

And it always

makes me late

 

We see a maine coon

At twenty one

 

Then big fluffy Griffin

At twenty

 

The skinny Burmese runs out

From eighteen

 

Where ever I go

There are plenty

 

Piper pops out

From number thirteen

 

Then Snow comes over

From ten

 

I see the tabby from

Number nine

 

And of course

Little Susie again

 

All of these cats

Make me stop and pat

 

Them on the way

to school

 

I wish I had room

To keep them all

 

Because that would be

REALLY COOL!

Daniel L, aged 5, Year 1, Adventure School

Leave a Reply

