I challenge you to write a story poem that is funny! and my Spike Milligan true story

51FhQFwcMSL._

I love writing funny poems and I love writing poems that make you laugh. It is true–laughter is the best medicine. Some of the poems in my book  Macaroni Moon are based on true stories because funny things do seem to happen to me.

Our cat Charlie (that’s big fluffy grey one) really did covered in blue paint!

I have got lots of poetry books that make me laugh! Sometime the language is ordinary and sometimes the language is really inventive and fun to say out loud.

These are some of my favourite poets who are really good at writing funny poems (often they tell a story!): Michael Rosen, Edward Lear, Spike Milligan, Jack Prelutsky, Ogden Nash, Roger McGough.

I even have a funny story about one of them that I have turned into a poem.

 

Spike Milligan

One day when I lived in London

I saw Spike Milligan cycling towards me

and I was so surprised I started laughing

and because I started laughing

he started laughing and because

he started laughing he nearly

fell of his bike.

 

So! Why don’t you have a go at writing a story poem that is funny. I have copy of The Book of Complete Nonsense to give to my favorite one.

 

DEADLINE for your Story-Poem Challenge: Wednesday June 4th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Story-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites from all the Story-Poem Challenges and have a book prize for some poets (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

