a lovely lovely school and a lovely lovely book by Sally Murphy that is out soon

Yesterday I visited Pomaria School in West Auckland and I was delighted with the way they welcome visitors— with such warmth and aroha. They want you to make yourself at home in their school. It was a special afternoon and the children were eager participants in my sessions. It makes me feel very lucky to be an author and to have these opportunities. So thank you!

 

1397601009064   1397601009064   1397601009064   1397601009064

This morning I read another verse novel by Sally Murphy, Roses Are Blue, and it made me think more about the way we welcome people no matter who they are. The way we make the people around us feel at home.

I love this book. I think it would be a wonderful book to read in class.

Amber Rose starts off by telling us how all the mums at her school are different, but how hers is really, really different. Her mum used to dance and sing and paint but now she can’t do anything for herself because she had an accident. She is in a wheelchair. She can’t feed herself and she can’t talk.

I instantly got caught up in Amber Rose’s life. She had to move to a new school which was tough. Then her class was having afternoon tea for their mums for Mother’s Day (what a great idea!) but Amber Rose was embarrassed and didn’t want her mum to come.

This book made me feel something and it made me think about how I treat people who are not the same as me! But this book is not a preachy book–it is a book that uses poetry to tell a story.

Bravo Walker Books for publishing it. I hope lots of New Zealand readers discover it. It is out on July 1st so maybe you can order it!

I have decided to order a copy as a prize for a challenge. This seems like a golden opportunity to celebrate our mums. So write a poem that celebrates your mum (or your grandmother, or your aunty).

Hunt for good detail so that your poem makes a picture of your mum. What does she like to do? Eat? Wear? Has she ever done anything funny, crazy, surprising, wonderful?

Real detail will make your poem sing!  Listen to your poem before you send it to me.

 

DEADLINE for your Mum-Poem Challenge: Wednesday July 2nd

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Mum-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites from all the Mum-Poem Challenges and have a book prize for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

Leave a Reply

