My visit to Remuera Primary School filled me with sizzling poetry

I saw the whole school! I shared poems and we made up poems. I got all the Year 5s and then all the Year 6s in the hall writing ‘Library’ poems for their book week. What fun! What a wonderful way to finish my school visits for the term.

Here are two of my favourites:

The Library
When I go to my school library
It’s my free ticket to….
Unknown mysteries and treacherous histories,
Trojan Wars and American Smores,
Fairy tale romance and a royal slow dance,
Seas of the past and deserts that are vast.
But nowhere is better than home.

BY MILA Room 23 (Year 5 or 6) Remuera Primary School

 

My School Library

My school library

is my free ticket to

the vast plains of Africa

the muddy trenches of the First World War

to life on a strange planet.

The library is the place for travel around

the world and through time.

William, 9 (Year 5 or 6) Remuera Primary School

 

One thought on “My visit to Remuera Primary School filled me with sizzling poetry

  1. Sally Fraser

    Hi Paula
    Thank you so much for your visit to Remuera Primary.
    It was truly inspiring!
    My class came back and we wrote a class poem straight away with all the children contributing an idea.
    We have had an awesome book week and finish with a character parade tomorrow.
    Thanks for your contribution to a great week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

