Standout Poems from the Third Fabulous Poetry Competition

So many poems sizzled and sang as I read my way through all the entries, but here are a few of my favourites. Congratulations young poets! Each poem has a nugget of gold– in the way it sounds, in the story it tells, in the picture it builds, in the way it moves.

 

The Storm

It’s very windy and rainy.

The swings are swinging by themselves.

It’s like magic. I have to stay inside but I

can see the rain popping like popcorn

as it bounces off the roof.

Sophie, Year 2, age 6, Waerenga School, Te Kauwhata

 

Spring

spreads a blanket of flowers

across the lazy meadows waking up from the cold;

she butters the trees

with leaves

making a majestic gown

Claude, Year 6, aged 10, Elmwood Normal School, Christchurch

 

Stars

The stars twinkle and winkle up there so high

They sparkle and warkle and reach the sky

Up in my head I dream them smiling and beaming down on me

Rylee, Year 3,Age 7, Green Bay School, Auckland

 

Bugs and Worms

Bugs and worms are disgusting and gross

Worms squiggle and squirm

Bugs spread the germs

Like marmalade on toast

Rylee, Year 3,Age 7, Green Bay School, Auckland

 

Autumn

The archway of orange leaves comes into sight.

Red leaves, gold leaves and orange too

parachuting down.

Trees are getting ready for winter, to sleep.

I walk to the tree palace.

Nature’s beauty guides me.

The trees are on fire.

Sam, Year 5, age 9, East Taieri School, Dunedin

 

The Sea Wears

The sea wears

a necklace

of leaping dolphins,

hair of seaweed

knotted from coral.

She’s covered in lashing waves,

whales swimming in her eyes.

Emily, Year 4, age 9, Ilam School, Christchurch

 

 

Forgotten on a Summer Beach

Chippy packets, cold wet jackets

Ripped books, fishing hooks

 

Ice cream cones, dog bones

People getting tanned, leaving coke cans

 

Kids from class, throwing class

Plastic bags, dirty flags

 

Tinfoil, sweet oil

Glad wrap, sketch map

 

Cardboard boxes, paper foxes

Food scraps, bottle caps

 

All lying forgotten on a summer beach

Tidy up and keep our beaches clean

Ashira, Year 4, age 8, Point View School, Auckland

 

When the Air Moves

When the air moves,

it pushes sailboats over the water,

it makes bubbles flow in the wind,

and makes rockets speed into space.

 

When the air moves,

it can be strong or light,

it helps birds fly through the sky,

and can make a hot day seem cold.

 

When I make air move,

I blow flies away,

breath heavily,

and use my hand as a fan.

Theo, Year 3, age 8, Onekawa School, Napier

 

Smells

I love

The smell of clean bright clothes from The Warehouse

The smell of the bright flower in a spotty pink vase.

The smell of fresh fruit off an apple tree.

The smell of the red icing on a hot cake in the oven.

The smell of touch nail polish bursting up my nose.

The smell of sizzling patties on a bbq.

But best of all is minty gum snapped out of its packet.

Angel, Year 4, age 8, Onkawa School, Napier

 

 

Mayo

It’s Takeaway night

We’re all at Fatimas

I’m anticipating with force

My dad says hold the sauce—no mayo

That’s my order of course

 

I can smell the wofta of kofta

It’s all coming to me

But when I see my meal

I’m not smiling with glee

 

What? Why?

I’m like A-O A-O

I need to tell my dad that there’s MAYO MAYO
this is not yummy, it is yucky

 

I see my dad scraping it off

As if it was Toxic waste

I hope it’s all gone

Or it will smell of toothpaste

Charlie, Year 6, age 10, Ponsonby Primary School, Auckland

 

Boss

The air is coming through your face

Going up and down and side to side.

Wind wind blowing,

Branches are breaking and shadows of trees

moving like a ghost

And clouds moving

 

Wind wind blowing to you

It’s like the whole tree is coming to you

Windy day, windy day, everything sideways

Windy day, windy day

The wind is the boss of today.

Mannfred, Year 5, age 9, Porirua East School, Wellington

 

I wrote a poem off the coast of a cloud

The map of the world tucked in my hand

south of Russia, north of Brazil, I wait

for the wind as the seas read my mind

I am stuck here in a whirl of countries

I’m left of Australia, right of Kenya

east of Algeria, west of France…

as I still wait off the coast of a cloud

from Fendalton Open Air School, Christchurch

 

Clouds Cry Out Rain

The moon swings in the night sky

bats hang off dark shadowy trees

the tide comes up in the morning sun

fantails wander along the bush

children laugh in the summer evening

dark gloomy clouds hovering across the sky

pitch black sparrows freeze in the cold air

soil scatters across the plants

clouds cry out in rain

dandelions burst out of the ground

the trees sway in the wind

the scent of fresh fruit

ripe green plants

but

clouds cry out rain

from Fendalton Open Air School, Christchurch

 

Breathe

Bang!

The bullet enters.

You fall.

The blood blossoms.

You go deaf.

You go mute.

You go blind.

You’re going home.

Br-

Rusheen, Year7/8 Brooklyn School, Wellington

Leave a Reply

