The Unveiling: My Hot Spot Poetry Tour of New Zealand is taking shape! Calling young poets to help me

To celebrate my two new books,  A Treasury of New Zealand Poetry for Children (Random House, out in October) and The Letterbox Cat and other Poems (Scholastic, out August), I am doing a series of poetry events throughout the country in October and November. I wanted to go to so many more places but this will take me almost a month!

I need your help! I am on the hunt for children to read poems and schools to perform poems at these events.

Each day this week I will post ways you can help me celebrate children’s poetry in October. I am working hard to make this a spectacular display of poetry.

 

Today I am inviting children who would like to read at one of my events to send me a poem. Look below and see if I am coming to a town or city near you. You need to send in all the details I ask for please. If you can get to one of these events you can enter.

Deadline: Friday August 29th

Topic: My Place. Places are also people and things. It might be your favourite place to go where you live, your Nana’s place or the beach or the mountains, what you like to do, a bird, your pet, your favourite person. Remember to use good detail and give your poem a sound test. Does it sound good? Imagine you are taking a photo or video of where you live for me, to show me a bit you love. I will post some more tips for you next week.

Tell me: Your name, age, year and name of school. Can you give the name and email of your teacher please and name, email and phone number of your parent or guardian?

Send to: paulajoygreen@gmail.com

 

The Hot Spot Poetry Tour Events ( I am doing other things in between these!):

Tuesday 14 October, Gisborne Event at Muir’s Bookshop 3.30 pm until 4.30 pm

Wednesday 15 October, New Plymouth Event at Puke Ariki Museum 6.30 pm -7.30pm

Sunday 19 October, Wellington Event at Te Papa 1 pm until 2pm

 Monday 20 October, Nelson Event at Page & Blackmore Bookshop 4pm until 5pm

 Tuesday 21 October, Christchurch Event at Canterbury Museum 6pm until 8pm

 Saturday 25 October, Dunedin Event at University Bookshop 1.30 pm until 2.30 pm

 Tuesday 28 October, Queenstown/Arrowtown Event at Remarkables School Hall 5 pm until 6pm

 Saturday 8 November, Auckland Event at The National Library, Parnell 2pm until 4pm

 

(Tomorrow I will announce my Wild Card event)

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Unveiling: My Hot Spot Poetry Tour of New Zealand is taking shape! Calling young poets to help me

  1. Pingback: My wild card picks for the Hot Spot Poetry Tour … | Poetry Box

  2. Pingback: Hot Spot Poetry Tour Tip for your My Place poem #1 | Poetry Box

  3. fernskylaboyle

    Hi Paula,So excited that you’re coming to Ormond in October! I’ll get my students to write some questions for NZ authors. I’ll get them writing some more poems too, as we haven’t done any in a while! I have a year 2 class this year.Looking forward to meeting you, I’ll have just returned from a visit to England catching up with my family.Best wishes,Sarah

    Dr. Sarah Boyle 36A Maclaurin Rd. Hexton, RD1 Gisborne NEW ZEALAND 0064 6 867 9627

    Date: Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:30:44 +0000 To: sarahmillsy@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

