The Letterbox Cat: I have ten copies of my new book to give away and a challenge to go with it!

photo

The Letterbox Cat and Other Poems (Scholastic) will be in bookshops soon (this month but I don’t know which exact day). Illustrations by Myles Lawford. (Is this my first low-grade selfie on Poetry Box? It’s definitely fuzzy but my camera is not working)

 

I had such fun writing these poems over the past few years and I had such fun working with the very lovely people at Scholastic on my book. A big thank you to Diana, Lynette, Penny and Frith. It was a pleasure to work with you all! And special thanks to the amazing designer, Dana Brown, who made the poems and the illustrations fill  the page with pizzazz. And thanks to Myles for his very cool illustrations. When I first saw the book I though it had a Dr Seuss feel which moved me very much indeed.

The book is available in shops this week and costs $12!

 

To celebrate I am posting a challenge. I will pick a cluster of your poems to post and I have ten copies for my favourite poems.

Write a poem using one of my opening lines as your first line to start your own poem! Make up your own title.

1. If you put your hat

2. On a blue day

3. When I am cold

4. Try writing a poem

5.  Imagine if you

6. The clouds are moving

7. Orange

8. The rain

9. Twitching tail

10. A Jack in the box

 

DEADLINE for your Letterbox Challenge: Wednesday August 20th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Letterbox challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for some poets.

 

 

Leave a Reply

