have fun with the l OO k of poems on the page

I was running on the beach yesterday and again today with little baby poems rolling in my head. I was thinking I could set them out in so many different ways (see the end of the post!).  This happens a lot in my new book, The Letterbox Cat.

 

Yesterday

A short curve of rainbow

sharp and bright, cut

into the grey cloud.

 

Today

The wind and rain

have swept the black

sand clean, like a new sheet

for my poetry pen, so my icy feet

go stomping lines that spin and zag.

 

I was thinking when you write a poem there is A L W A Y S the way it looks on the page.

How long are your lines? Are some lines very long?

Do you have verses?

Do some words fall down the page like rain?

Is your poem in a shape?

Does your poem hug the left-hand margin?

Have you put it in the middle of the page (Some adult poets love this and some hate it!)?

Do your lines start with capital letters (Some adult poets love this and some hate it!)?

Do some lines start further into the page than others?

 

There is so much to  P l  A  y  with when you think about the  l  OO  k  of your poem!

 

Have a go and send me some examples and I will post my favourites.

 

DEADLINE for your LOOK-Poem Challenge: Friday August 15th!   soon!!!!!

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the LOOK-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

Yesterday

A short curve of rainbow sharp and bright, cut

into the grey cloud. The grey waves crash.

 

Today

The wind and rain have swept the black

sand clean, like a new sheet

 

for my poetry pen, so my icy feet

go stomping lines that spin and z

a

g.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “have fun with the l OO k of poems on the page

  1. fernskylaboyle

    Hi Paula, my kids are having fun with some ‘look poems’ at home! Both at Ormond School.
    The Awesome Zoom by Tarn (age 5)
    I am zooming d o w n the hillFaster than a m o t o r b i k e
    Wood Drums at School by Fern (age 9)

    My friends and I made a B I G band t-o-g-e-t-h-e-rwe used inch thin branchesagainst thick tree stumpsFinn finished the c n e t o c rby whacking his “drum sticks”against the oldw~o~b~b~l~ybarbed~wire~fence’BANG!’🙉

    Dr. Sarah Boyle 36A Maclaurin Rd. Hexton, RD1 Gisborne NEW ZEALAND 0064 6 867 9627

    Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2014 21:57:23 +0000
    To: sarahmillsy@hotmail.com

    Reply
  2. fernskylaboyle

    Hi Paula,Here’s some l OO k poems from Kauri class 😉 Tommy August 14 2014

    Look poem Vampires turn into bats they suck people’s red, juicy blood they have blood stains on their black capes

    Georgia August 14 2014

    Our three only band I have my own band it is only me, Blake, and Nina I pLaY the guitar Nina pLaYs the piano and Blake pLaYs the drums me and Blake pLaY garage band on our iPods and Nina pLaYs it on her tablet Cool! Wow! Amazing!mia August 14 2014

    fossils Fossils have bones and shells in them they live in shallow water they are hard some fossils feel nice on my skin

    tom August 14 2014

    Minions Minions are yellow I eat purple Minions from the machine the big grabber gets them out

    Ben A August 14 2014

    Look poem Bang! go the drums the drums went so loud Whoa!

    rheannon August 14 2014

    Look poem Running up and d o w n the mountains climbing up a tall tree I went down the tall tree to the grass I saw a birdsequoia August 14 2014

    eating an apple I like apples they are yummy because they are red apples are hard when I eat them

    brian August 14 2014

    Look poem I like playing ball tag Jonah tags me now I’m in

    ruby-rhain August 14 2014 Look poem Running up the mountain running d o w n the mountain around the mountain sliding on the mountain over the mountain running is fun on the mountainnoah August 14 2014

    Green Tractor I play with my tractor the tractor has a trailer and on the trailer is a hook I play with it in the sandpit

    myles August 14 2014

    Scooter I ride my scooter where my playroom isben l August 14 2014

    eating popcorn Popcorn, popcorn is so white it is so yummy I am feeling hungry Joshua August 14 2014

    Look poem Woof! goes Jake he is angry Mum puts him in the kennel

    taylor August 14 2014

    Eating Eating black chocolate eating yellow minions eating baddy purple minions they have purple hair and sharp teeth

    aria August 14 2014

    Look poem I went d o w n the hill to hop on the horse to go for a r i d e w-i-th him

    Dr. Sarah Boyle 36A Maclaurin Rd. Hexton, RD1 Gisborne NEW ZEALAND 0064 6 867 9627

    Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2014 21:57:23 +0000 To: sarahmillsy@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

