What are your favourite words to use in poems?

This morning when I ran on the beach the wind whipped the foam into fake snow.

It often does that when it’s snowing down south. The sun was shining and the black sand was glinting, so it was a spectacular sight.

Yesterday some poets were sharing the words they often used in their poems. It made me think about words that sneak into mine.

moon

(bits of sky)

honey

wild

wind

hills

All outside words. When I write children’s poems these words still sneak in but I use made up words more often.

It made me want to try writing poems with words I HARDLY ever use.

Time to get my battered old, beloved dictionary and go hunt for words I have never used in a poem — and then write a poem with them!

 

Two challenges for you:

Hmm! Write me a letter you don’t mind me posting and tell me your favourite words to use in a poem.

Or get a dictionary and find 5 words you have never used in a poem and then put them all in a poem!

 

DEADLINE for your New-Word-Poem Challenge: Tuesday August 19th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the New-Word-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for some poets.

 

Leave a Reply

