Sue Wootton introduces some jungle poems by young Dunedin poets: A tangle in the jungle and a tingle in our spines

Way back in Term One, 32 students from Columba College in Dunedin took part in a series of poetry workshops with Sue Wootton. On August 22nd, to celebrate National Poetry Day,  a collection of their poems was launched in a book called I lived in the jungle long ago.  Here is the introduction and a jungle poem by Sue, and three of the poems in the anthology.

WELCOME  On behalf of the 32 intrepid explorers who wrote the poems in this book, I would like to invite you to the Jingle Jangle Jungle. It’s where the words live. These poems are what the explorers brought back. They are the spark in the eye of the creatures that live within us all.

Jingle jangle jungle

A tangle in the jungle and a tingle in our spines

Something creeping up on us, a rustle in the vines

 

A fizzing in the canopy: the trees are whisking sky

Something pouring down on us, a sorrow, a huge sigh

 

A crackle just ahead – and gone. A pop, a snap behind

Something slithers out of sight, burrows in the mind

 

A stretch a kick a flap a clap, a flounce a bounce a creak

Something mutters, something flutters… catch it – let it speak!

Sue Wootton

Midnight

At midnight magic animals creep out of their hiding spots.

Where do they hide? I wonder.

But my favourite type is Midnight the unicorn.

She flies everywhere far and wide with me.

Midnight is like midnight on a summer’s night.

SKYLA M (Year 4)

 

Edie

Your golden fur tickles my toes and pokes my eyes

The bright ball touches the sky

and gets trapped in your mouth     You run to shade

and I come with you        When the rain falls

you are in with me snuggled down in my arms

Then the sun comes out and you and I run out

with me a paw away          I love you     You are great

You are the golden flash in my black and dull life

ELLICE L(Year 3)
 

 

Old man

 ‘Tis the dark that takes the dawn,

so does my old man.

His hand is old, his heart is warm,

and so goes my old man.

With his lips he whispers “Son” –

then the dark has taken my old man.

OSSIAN L (Year 6)

One thought on “Sue Wootton introduces some jungle poems by young Dunedin poets: A tangle in the jungle and a tingle in our spines

Leave a Reply

