A short-poem challenge for you … I l o v e very short peoms i do i do i do

18166919

 

When I was at Kids for Books in Hamilton I got this great book, Firefly July: A Year of Very Short Poems, selected by the wonderful Paul B Janeczko and illustrated by Melissa Sweet.

You know how much I L O V E short poems.

Short poems are the sweetest thing.

They can be funny.

They can shimmer and shine with a picture.

They can chime with music.

Every word must be just right!

 

My challenge: Try writing a very short poem. No more than 14 words. I won’t read it if it is a single word over!

DEADLINE for your Short-Poem Challenge: Monday 15th September

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Short-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book prize for some poets.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A short-poem challenge for you … I l o v e very short peoms i do i do i do

  1. fernskylaboyle

    Hi Paula, your Letterbox cat books have arrived! We’ll present them to the 4 kids at assembly on Friday – thanks so much! Penny and I would love a copy – can we buy them from you?Sarah

    Dr. Sarah Boyle 36A Maclaurin Rd. Hexton, RD1 Gisborne NEW ZEALAND 0064 6 867 9627

    Date: Tue, 26 Aug 2014 01:18:49 +0000 To: sarahmillsy@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

