Last lines, dream bicycles and Visiting Russley School

Yesterday I had my first day with Russley School, the South Island winner of The Third Fabulous Poetry Competition.

It was a blue-sky day and a blue-sky visit with poetry sizzling and simmering through the stretch of the day.

There was a warm welcome sign made by Monica on the door. I loved it! The four groups listened and laughed and made up poems. I loved them! When I get home I will post some of these.

Lots of favourite bits in my day but I got some great ideas for a dream-bicycle poem after I read my poem, ‘The Bicycle. ‘

I want to write another one now.

So I challenge you to write a poem about your dream bike. Send to paulagreen@gmail.com. Include your name, age, year and name of school. I will post my favourites and have a book prize for someone.

DEADLINE for both challenges: September 12th

Secondly we came up with great ideas for how last lines can work.

They can move you
Surprise you
Flip you
Make you think
Make you laugh

If you can think of any more ideas send to me and I will post my favourites and have a book for someone. Say it is for the end-line challenge. You could even write a poem to show your idea. Send to my address above with details I asked for.

It was a tremendous day! Thank you!

IMG_1112.JPG

Leave a Reply

