Visiting the winning school, the Y1 and Y2s made poems pop

I accidentally posted this on Poetry Shelf so will redo it because the children sat in the hall for an hour with unflagging attention and poetry rippled and sang. It was such fun. I was over the moon with the words we collected.

I read my Boat-Shoe poem and then we made up our own skinny shoe poem.

Gladstone Road Shoes

Rubber shoes
Slipper shoes
Velcro shoes
Sore shoes
Sparkly shoes
Monkey shoes
Basketball shoes
Broken shoes
Running shoes
Dinosaur shoes
Blue shoes
Yellow shoes
Lightning shoes
Shoes are cool!

Lily

My Russian blue cat
scratches all the time
like a tiger,
sleeps and purrs
tricks,
frisky cat.

My cat likes
to eat tuna
lasagna
and cheese,
scrumple scrumple.

My cat likes
to sleep in my bed
on the sofa
on cushions
and the table.

She does a somersault.
She brushes me with her tail.

My Kite

Rainbow kite
Kite flies
Fairy kite
Kite swishes
Disco kite
Kite twirls
Golden kite
Kite glazes
Butterfly cat
Kite races,
I love my kite.

One thought on “Visiting the winning school, the Y1 and Y2s made poems pop

Leave a Reply

