A very fine book to inspire me in the school holidays: The Day No One Was Angry by Toon Tellegen

anger     anger

I should be hard at work editing all the fabulous interviews you have done of authors in A Treasury of NZ Poems for Children. I can’t wait to start posting them once the book is out. But instead I am having a delicious time reading a delicious book published by Gecko Press. I don’t even want to go to the supermarket and get food for dinner. Ahhh! What a good book!

The Day No One Was Angry is written by Toon Tellegen and has gorgeous illustrations by Marc Boutavant. Toon is from The Netherlands, and like Glen Colquhoun, was a doctor before he began to write books. He is a well loved children’s author in his home country. Marc lives in Paris and has illustrated lots of children’s books.

The book is made up of twelve short chapters that feature animals and different kinds of anger. It reminds me of reading Joy Cowley’s Just One More and Kyle Mewburn’s Melu. There is folk-tale-ish-ness about the tales. I love the way you see an emotion in so many different ways. Sometimes you laugh and sometimes you frown. Stories can be like poetry and poetry can be like stories.There is a hyrax, and elephant, a lobster, a hedgehog, a toad, a cricket, a squirrel an aardvark and many more.

The book is filing me with ideas for poems and I want to give you a challenge but I am so busy I am not sure I will have time to post them before I go away

But I can’t help it!

Unfortunately this book isn’t out until November so I will post my favourite poems when it is!  Thanks to Gecko Press I have a copy of the book for one young poet.

Try writing a poem about an animal or two that have to cope with something that makes them angry. Your story might make the reader laugh or sad or think. Just like in this book.

How will it end? Test out three endings and then pick your favourite.

DEADLINE for your Animal-Anger Poem Challenge: MONDAY November 10th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Animal-Anger Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a copy of the book for a poet thanks to Gecko Press (Year 0 to Year 8).

Leave a Reply

