Happy Publication Day: A Treasury of NZ Poems for Children is out in the world

ATreasuryOfNZPoemsForChildrenJKT_FNL.indd

Finally, after all the work from so many people and the contributions from so many poets and children’s authors (and 20 children!), and the gorgeous illustrations by Jenny Cooper, this beautifully produced book is out in the world. Thank you everyone! Thank you! A big thank you to Random House. I have loved working with you, especially Jenny Hellen (Publisher), Anna Bowbyes (Project Editor), and Megan van Staden (Designer), Yvonne Thynne (Publicity Manager), Rebecca Thorne (Publicity Co-ordinator), Hannah de Valda (media) and Becky Innes (Marketing Manager). Jenny it was a real treat to work with you on this book and I want to thank you for involving me in so many stages.

To celebrate I am adding two more challenges to the three I have on offer (find them on my blog!).

I will post all FIVE again on Day ONE of Term FOUR when I set off on my Hot Spot Poetry Tour of New Zealand.

Challenge Number 5

The other day I watched a wonderful video by Izak from Russley School in Christchurch. Isak made a really cool speech about trees with a bit of poetry tucked in the end. Food for thought! I loved all the different shots and locations (all near trees of course!).

You can check out his fabulous work here on YouTube.

It gave me an idea to get you to make a poem video.

1. You would have to use one of my poems or a poem you have written.

2. Or you can pick a poem from the Treasury and I can see if I can get permission from the author. Otherwise we will run into copyright issues.

3. You would have to post it on YouTube and send me the link.

4. I will pick my favourites and post the links on my blog.

DEADLINE for your Video-Poem Challenge: Wednesday November 14th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Video-Poem challenge.

I will have a copy of the Treasury for a few favourites (up to Year 8).

Challenge Number 4

Take one of these titles from the Treasury and use it as the title of your poem.

The Growly Bear                                             Ode to the Orange

The Pumperknickle Pirate                               Elephap Rap

The Night Kite                                                  Old Man Wind

Getting a Fish                                                   Sea Ceatures

Spaghetti                                                           An Elephanty Poem

Who Am I?                                                         Morning on the Marae

Words                                                                Tree Cat

The Sneeze                                                       Ice Trolls

Tuatara                                                               Don’t Be Wet

Washday for the Clouds                                   The Dictionary Bird

Red Horse                                                           Weather Forecast

Porridge                                                               Rainy Day Wash Away

At Night                                                                What My Dragon Likes

Cocoon                                                                  A Grumpy Poem

Haka                                                                      A Chinese Song

A Visit to the Beachside Library                       Kick-off

The Old Owl                                                          A Lullaby

DEADLINE for your Title-Poem Challenge: Wednesday November 14th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Title-Poem challenge.

I will have a copy of the Treasury for a few favourites (up to Year 8).

10 thoughts on “Happy Publication Day: A Treasury of NZ Poems for Children is out in the world

  1. Pingback: Making poems from Treasury titles: Gemma and Daniel have gone with d r a g o n s | Poetry Box

  2. Pingback: The Treasury Challenges are good to go! Take your pick and get poeming! | Poetry Box

    1. Paula Green Post author

      Deadline for title poems and video poem 14th. The other three were 3rd and 8th. I will start posting tomorrow but not all three. is there one you want a bit longer on? I will start posting poems and photos from challenges tomorrow. I have been having a few days off so may not get to this until Monday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

