A picture poem inspired by The Letterbox Cat

I challenged you to create pictures with words to celebrate my new book The Letterbox Cat (Scholastic) as it is full of picture poems (Concrete Poetry).

Here is a favourite.

Ewen did a picture poem but she also included the poem separately as ‘it may be hard to read upside down.’ I put it at the bottom. That is the fun of it but it is easier to read a twisty poem in a book than on a computer screen! She is Y7 and goes to Cobham Intermediate in Christchurch.

I am sending Ewen a copy of the book (she actually has a wee poem at the back!)

Screen shot 2014-10-08 at 9.42.40 AM

 

A Fly for a Spider

Beside me
is a spider
inspecting
apple cider
eight beady
dark eyes
eight legs
no thighs
I am its lunch
for today
I wish I could live
another day.

Ewen W aged 12, Room 20, Year 7, Cobham Intermediate School, Christchurch

One thought on “A picture poem inspired by The Letterbox Cat

Leave a Reply

