The Treasury Interviews: The Sharks Reading Group at Adventure School interviews Janice Marriot

20140925_145515_resized

20140925_145235_resized

The Sharks are a reading group in Room 1 at Adventure School in Whitby. They love to read and write and listen to stories and poems. They also love to run, swim and go on the classroom iPads. There is a photo of Room 1 followed by a photo of The Sharks.

 

photo

Janice Marriot Janice likes to write stories, articles and poems for children of all ages.  You can find some of her stories, poems, and plays in the School Journal at your school. She has published in many different fields,  including prize-wining novels for children, gardening books, short stories in all the major magazines, radio plays, scripts for Weta Workshops, radio documentaries, songs, columns in the Herald on Sunday, and in NZ House and Garden magazine.

She lives in Auckland in a small house with a large garden, and spends most of her time playing with and learning from her grandchild.

 

The Interview

Is writing your only job? Did you ever have another job?

My other job used to be recording children’s stories and songs. I was the producer of Kiwi Kidsongs for many years. It is very satisfying for me to see these hundreds of songs having a new life now with my grandson who dances and sings to them.

 

Where do you do your writing? Do you have a special place?

I used to write in my attic, in a tiny room. Now I write downstairs beside two big sash windows.

 

Did you feel lonely when you lived on a sheep station? How did you spend your days? Did you have any sheep dogs or horses?

Yes, I shared two horses, Whiskey and Cosy.   We also had pet lambs, and there was a very angry billy goat that we had to try to avoid. He had big horns.

 

We like your poem called ‘Seek and Ye Shall Hide.’ What is your favourite poem that you have written?

Poems are like children. They are all different so you never have one favourite. I like them all in different ways.

 

How many episodes of the Wot Wots did you write?

I don’t know. You just keep writing them and only some of them make it to TV.

 

Sometimes we find it hard to finish our stories. Does this ever happen to you? Do you have any ideas that might help us?

Know what your story is about before you begin. Shape it to a big climax and a definite ending.

 

Do you think writing fiction, non fiction, or poetry is the easiest?

They are all different. Sometimes I like to tell a story so I write fiction, but sometimes I want to explain something so I write non fiction. When I want to think hard about one small event or one small feeling inside, then I write a poem.

Know what your story is about before you begin. Shape it to a big climax and a definite ending.

 

Do you think writing fiction, non fiction, or poetry is the easiest?

They are all different. Sometimes I like to tell a story so I write fiction, but sometimes I want to explain something so I write non fiction. When I want to think hard about one small event or one small feeling inside, then I write a poem.

 

Thanks Janice and The Sharks for a terrific interview. I really enjoyed reading this. Janice has two poems in A Treasury of NZ Poems for Children.

Leave a Reply

