A blustery day, a busy day, a brimming with poetry day in Wellington

Four things today and not much sleep.

But it was just wonderful. A warm welcome at Brooklyn School in a mini hall packed with nearly all the school. The hour and poems whizzed by and the poems we made up were delicious, inventive, playful.

20141017-192813-70093749.jpg

Next up Ngaio School to work Y5 and 6 classes with their bounding vocabularies and simmering imaginations. Again wonderful poems taking shape. Afterwards I had lunch with the group of students I had a NZ Book Council Skype session with while I listened to their polished poems. I have got used to reading poems from The a Letterbox Cat but not The Treasury yet. So many to choose from. Bernice had made a divine sandwich for my lunch with a green-goddess dressing. Just what I needed after not much sleep.

Third stop was Adventure School in Whitby where I got to visit Room 1 and see their cool popcorn poems. I even got a present made by the Lovewell
Family. A bag of homemade word biscuits to make into a poem and then eat! I have photographed the poem I made.

Final stop Porirua Library to read poems to children and parents. We even made a poem up as a gift for the library. There is an a m a z I n g librarian here and her name is Bee. She is full of the joy of books and ready to share it in her children’s section. Such a lovely, warm atmosphere. She even took me out for a cup of tea and an everything-slice (the best!).

I was sad to leave everywhere because I had such fun in each place.

But I am glad to get out a book and have an extra quiet night.

Tomorrow I am at The Children’s Bookshop in Kilbirnie at 10.30. Come and say hello.

20141017-194034-70834105.jpg

20141017-194034-70834873.jpg

20141017-194034-70834352.jpg

20141017-194034-70834631.jpg

Leave a Reply

