The Treasury Interviews: Jasmine interviews Pauline Cartwright

photo

Pauline Cartwright lives in Alexandra, Central Otago in New Zealand. Scholastic has published her books and poems for children. She loves to come and see Intermediate students to talk about writing.

About Me: My name is Jasmine. I’m a Year 5, nine-year-old girl that goes to Remarkables Primary School. I love to read books.

 

The Interview

Are any of your books in a National library and if they are which are most popular?
I’m sure I do have books in the National Library but I can’t list them all. I will list a few that I know you would be likely to enjoy.
WHAT! NO TV?
GOLD!     Also published as FINDING MY FATHER
THE RELUCTANT PIRATE
INSIDE THE GAME
100 NEW ZEALAND POEMS FOR CHILDREN
WEIRD AND WONDERFUL NEW ZEALAND STORIES
MATAU THE GIANT OF WAKATIPU
A STRING OF GOLD NUGGETS

Do you have any new books?
I haven’t any new books out in the shops lately but you might come across some in your classroom eg AWESOME ANIMAL ADVENTURE! which is about very large creatures – dinosaurs to blue whales. And I have put a few titles online with Amazon Kindle. One of them I AM SOMEONE ELSE is my newest story but it is for older teenagers. You might need to wait a few years before you would find it enjoyable.

What schools have you been to to share your writing?
Over a lot of years I have been to many schools in the North and South Island (and one or two in Australia). There have been times when I have spoken to so many classes in one day that I have started to forget whether it was this class that I said that to, or whether it was the class I had just left! Sometimes I have just talked about writing and shared my stories and poems. Sometimes I have taken workshops. Sometimes I have been entertained by the children I have visited and that is a very nice thing to have happen. I have met a lot of wonderful children and wonderful teachers.

What books have you written in the past year?
In the last year I have written only articles and no books at all.

Do you speak to all years about your writing?
Yes I do speak about writing to children of all ages – and sometimes to adults.

What is your favourite book you have written?
I have written a lot of books. If I count every one, including all the small books that help children learn to become readers, I have written over 300. (I feel quite surprised by that!!) I don’t have a favourite from that list. A new story in my head always feels exciting and important and so my favourite is always the one I am writing!

 

Thanks for a great interview Jasmine and Pauline. Pauline has three poems in A Treasury of NZ Poetry for Children including an old favourite of mine, ‘The Same Old Mum.’ I have seen children write versions of this which are really cool. They have sent them to me at Poetry Box.

12160513 958260443 22309200 6375124 1877404411 187740439X

 

Leave a Reply

