What I love about Margaret Mahy and a wee challenge

9781775540229        97801405063030140554262014056327Xthumb_160160226234240the great white man eating shark

On Saturday morning, I woke up before the sun and for some reason I thought of all the reasons why I love the writing of Margaret Mahy.

She wrote to delight children, and if adults were delighted too (and yes they were!), that was a bonus.

She wanted to catch the ear and eye and imagination of the child; and how she did!

She didn’t stick to rules and regulations about what to write and how to write it.

Big words, delicious words, strange words, made-up words were IN!

Twisty sentences were IN!

Imagination was the Queen and good sounds were the King.

Repetition was IN!

Extraordinary things were IN!

Ordinary things were IN!

I sometimes wonder if her books would be published today as she was such a risk-taking, fun-loving, imagination-stretching, sound popping, WORD ADVENTURER.

I don’t know if such deliciously risky books get published now; books that break the model children’s book.

What I do know is Margaret Mahy is the author who has shaped me most as a writer.

She makes me want to do a little whoopy dance of joy to say thank you for such glorious poems and stories.

A Poetry Box Challenge: Write and tell me about one of your favourite authors and what you love about their writing.

DEADLINE for your Favourite Writer Challenge: Monday 21st November

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Favourite Writer challenge.

I will post my favourites  and have a book prize for a student (Year 0 to Year 8).

Leave a Reply

