Poems that sound good

9780571259496

What a lot of magnificent poems that sound good. It was hard to pick a few to post from such a great response, but here are a few of my favourites.

Thanks to the lovely Lovewell family I am sending Lily a copy of Ted Hughes: Poems for Children. It is a CD! I was going to have a sneak listen before I sent it off but I will get a copy for myself to play in the car. I love the way Lily’s poem is so simple but sounds so good. Scrumptious poem.

Letterbox Cat   Letterbox Cat

I am also sending a copy of my book, The Letterbox Cat, to Penelope as I love the nifty sounds in her list poem. She has really used her ear to go hunting for words. Gemma‘s poem is fun to sing out loud, Jack‘s poem is a tremendous symphony of sounds, Daniel‘s poem not only sounds good but has a delicious idea about poetry and the writing group at Adventure School came up with some awesome alliteration.

Wind

Wind is little dots that circle the Earth.

At first the dots are hot.

When they come back

from circling the Earth

they get colder and

that’s what makes Wind.

So when it’s windy

tie your hair up if it’s long

so it won’t get in your face.

The dots get cold

because the Arctic is cold.

It makes the leaves rustle

on the branches.

There are lots of sorts of wind.

The strongest wind of them all is a hurricane.

A hurricane can damage

nearly everything

in its path.

Lily M, 5 years old, Paekakariki School

Poetry is Like Lego

Poetry is like Lego

You take little pieces

Just ordinary on their own

You build them together

Up, down, across

To turn something plain

Into something fantastical

If you muddle the pieces

You can make something totally new

That belongs to only you

By Daniel L, Year 1, age 5, Adventure School

In my sister’s case…

I was on holiday and in my sister’s case there was

a blood thirsty vampire and the roman empire

rainbow wings and a kea with shiny things

a poisonous green snake and a blood red lake

brown sea kelp and a monster screaming help!

a grass green cat and an orange table mat

popcorn than can pop and a white walled shop

a hand knitted sock and a band that can rock

a really fast car and a full fruit jar

a bear in a cave and a hot, thirsty slave

a child getting the cane and wet pouring rain

a really fast plane and awful, terrible pain

and that was that! ”

Penelope C, Year 4, Arrowtown Primary

Sounds

This poem sounds like wind howling,

Like water gushing,

Like dogs growling,

Like waves gushing

This poem sounds like sand sticking

Like ice cream licking

Like hot chip dipping

Like drops dripping

This poem sounds like feet tracking

Like castles crumbling

Like toddlers squealing

Like surfers skimming

SHLOOSHES! SHLAMMMER! SHABOOEE!

It’s the Sumner Summer Symphony!

Jack P, Fendalton Open Air School, age 10, Year 6

I Hear A Morepork

(to the tune of under the boardwalk)

Oh, when the sun goes down and goes to hide behind the hill
And you need a warm coat – if you don’t have one on you’ll catch a chill
I hear a morepork, up in the tree, yeah
And I know he is hiding somewhere I can’t see

I hear a morepork – Up in the tree

I hear a morepork – He is looking at me

I hear a morepork – I think he’s glad to be free

I hear a morepork – Make that definitely

I hear a morepork – Morepork!
From the garden you hear the sound of fantails flitting round
You can almost touch the tuis wings as they swoop down
I hear a morepork, up in the tree, yeah
And I know he is hiding somewhere I can’t see

I hear a morepork – Up in the tree

I hear a morepork – He is looking at me

I hear a morepork – I think he’s glad to be free

I hear a morepork – Make that definitely

I hear a morepork – Morepork!
By Gemma L Age 8, year 4 Room 8 Adventure School

Screen shot 2014-12-05 at 12.58.21 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-05 at 12.58.21 PM

By Matthias, Jorja, Noah, Tianyi, Tiora, Elen, Angus and Luci. Room 8 Adventure School, Whitby, Porirua.

 

Leave a Reply

