My favourite poems that sound good

Thanks for all the poems that sound good. I loved reading them all!

I asked you to play with how a poem sounds and gave you lots of tips. I have picked some of my favourites to post. Gemma and Daniel wrote poems that were about sounds. The words they chose captured those sounds brilliantly. Ewen wrote one poem in three different ways. She hid lots of different rhymes in her poems. Wonderful! Lily sent in three poems and I love the way each line sounds terrific. Words stand out.  The rhythm moves here and there. Say them out loud and see what you can hear. Congratulations all those who were picked to be posted.

 

I am sending Lily a copy of Jenny Bornholdt’s A Book is a Book because I think this poem book sounds really really good!

 

What I do

I let the white glistening powder float underneath my greased plastic feet.

Sometimes it leaves me isolated,

on a cold stone surface.

Bright snowy flakes shimmer in the sky.

 

A colourful world

Sky blue.

Lime green.

Compares to a river,

decorated with Dandy lines.

Why does Lime green,

Compare to sky Blue.

 

The life circle of tomorrow

Trees whispering. About all the secrets that the birds call.

Wind shouting. A soft song important to me.

Leaves crackling. As they swirl around.

Squirrels chattering. As they slowly stack up their nuts.

 

My name is Lily. I am Year 6 and I am 10 years old. I am from Fendalton school.

 

My Alarm Clock

The pattering of the shower

The booming of my brother

The tinkling of mum putting cutlery away

The hubblebubbling of the jug boiling

The whistle-chirping of birds outside my window

And the ga-donk of the furry purry thing jumping

down from my bed

Telling me to wake up

By Gemma, aged 9, Year 5, Adventure School, Whitby

 

 

Awful Sounds in the Night

What is that awful sound?

The squeal of a rusty car wheel?

The howl of a lonely wolf?

The screech of a fork dragging on a plate?

The kerdunk of cats in the night?

I creak open the door

And find something even worse…

 

It’s Daddy – singing in the shower!

 

By Daniel aged 6, Year 2, Adventure School, Whitby

 
Roads

Cars they zoom,
left, right, straight,
lights or roundabouts
in their way.

And I also did a longer one:
Roads

White or yellow
lines to follow.

Cyclists fight wind;
cars pollute air.

Cars they zoom,
left, right, straight,
lights or roundabouts
in their way.

Rules to abide,
but there’s still
crashes and accidents
on our roads.

And I wrote an around 20 word poem:

Roads

Cars they zoom,
left, right, straight,
lights or roundabouts
in their way.

Rules to abide,
but there’s still
crashes and accidents
on our roads.
 
Ewen W aged 12, Year 8, Cobham Intermediate School, Christchurch

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

