Poetry Bonanza Monday: a challenge, some tips on using your ears, a storm

I am sitting at my desk.

Yesterday I could hear the cicadas and the radio in the distance and a blowfly storming into my room and someone mowing their lawns and the occasional car. It is quiet where I live, yet the more I listen the more I hear.

This morning, after the rain that pelted our roof all night and the gusting winds it is strangely quiet.

I have been thinking about the people in Vanuatu. I have been thinking about all those wonderful people I met in Gisborne on my tour who are bracing themselves for more storm. My thoughts are with you. Arohanui, Paula

 

This week the challenge is to use your ears when you write a poem.

 

When I have written a poem I like to listen to it.

I like to listen to each line and each word.

How does this word sound next to that word?

What happens if I change a word?

How does this line sound flowing on to that line?

Do I need all the words?

How does it sound if I change something about my poem?

 

This week I challenge you to do  L I S T E N I N G  T E S T  on your poem. Listen to it carefully. Every word!

 

The topic: There is a huge terrible cyclone in the Pacific and we are getting some of it too with fierce rain and gales.

 

Write a poem about a storm. Did you experience a bit of Cyclone Pam? Or can you find out about the storm in Vanuata or in New Zealand? Poems can be a way to share our experiences. I am happy to post photos too.

Remember: this is a Listening-to-your-poem challenge!

 

DEADLINE for your Listening-to-my-Poem Challenge: Wednesday June 4th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Listening-to-my-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book for one poet.

 

Leave a Reply

