Woohoo! LIANZA Children’s Book Award finalists announced — They include The Letterbox Cat!

Letterbox Cat    Letterbox Cat

I  am so chuffed my poetry book for children,  The Letterbox Cat, has been shorted listed for these awards. That is just lovely! I have no expectation to win the category but I am delighted to see a VERYfavourite book of mine there: Barbara Else’s The Volume of Possible Endings. In fact I just posted a young poet a copy of that this week for last week’s challenge! That is how much I LOVE this book!

9781877579233   9781877579233   9781877579233

I have been a NZ Book Award judge so I know how it is choosing a short list so I was also pleased to see two ultraSTARultra favourite books of mine on the long list. I have sung their prasies highly on Poetry Box: Mary McCallum’s  Dappled Annie and the Tigrish and Melinda Szymanik’s The Song of the Kauri.

Thank you so much LIANZA for picking a poetry book as they so rarely make these kinds of shortlists. This is an honour for me indeed.

I will do now do a little dance for poetry joy! Woohoo. Woohoo.

Go here to see all the other finalists in the other categories.

 

Esther Glen Junior Fiction Finalists

  • Monkey Boy by Donovan Bixley – Scholastic

  • The Volume of Possible Endings (A Tale of Fontania) by Barbara Else – Gecko

  • Conrad Cooper’s Last Stand by Leonie Agnew – Penguin

  • Trouble in Time by Adele Broadbent – Scholastic

  • Letterbox Cat by Paula Green – Scholastic

4 thoughts on “Woohoo! LIANZA Children’s Book Award finalists announced — They include The Letterbox Cat!

  1. Bee Trudgeon

    A little dance for poetry, indeed. Congratulations, Paula. A well-deserved placement in a very strong field of nominees.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

