Ode to Cricket challenge

I visited Kings School last week and in my session with all the Y5 and 6 students we wrote an ode to cricket. It was the morning after NZ’s World-Cup semi final so we were all a wee bit tired having stayed up late. I will do a post on my visit this coming week.

Meanwhile to celebrate all the fabulous cricket we have witnessed in New Zealand and Australia over the past months, I challenge you to write an ode to cricket. I am going to have a go too.

An ode is a way of singing the praises of something.

Find great detail.

Use real detail.

Use good cricket words.

Hunt for excellent verbs.

Listen to every line.

DEADLINE for your Cricket-Poem Challenge: Tuesday 31st March

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Cricket-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites on Wednesday and have a book for one poet.

Leave a Reply

