‘The Paula Green Method’: Something for me to think about and some poems from Russley School

Melanie works with a writing group at Russley School in Christchurch and sent in some poems which I really loved. So  I am going to share them with you.

But first …

Melanie also sent me on a fascinating train of thought as she said she used what she calls ‘The Paula Green Method.’ Which was rather cool but got me wondering if I do have a set method.

I guess there are some key things at work when I do poetry workshops.

I want children to fall in love with language and play.

Sometimes it can be a bit daunting to write a poem cold so we often go on word hunts. Which is what they did. There is no one way to do this but helps build a word field to play in.

I also strongly believe poetry can ignite the most reluctant writer and set them on all manner of discovery paths. Important!

Poetry can also challenge a sophisticated writer to take new risks.

I am more inclined to open doorways and paths than have a set goal in mind. If the child has sparked that is gold.

One day I need to down and write up the method(s) to my poetry madness!

I love the sound of these poems and the glorious detail. They are surprising. They build pictures and they build mood. I love the way they have played with how the poem sits on the page (form) and the way the lines move. Wonderful job! I am honoured you used a bit of my method to get here.

Here are the poems:

Screen shot 2015-04-01 at 1.22.01 PM Screen shot 2015-04-01 at 1.21.54 PM Screen shot 2015-04-01 at 1.21.45 PM Screen shot 2015-04-01 at 1.21.38 PM

Leave a Reply

