Poetry Bonanza Monday; the marvellous moon, the mysterious moon and I’m on the hunt for reviews and interviewers

photo 2

 

 

Well I am so happy after such a happy weekend to celebrate my 60th birthday. NZ poets made an amazing birthday gift for me that you can see here. I cried! Every time I choose a new poem to read I cry!  I am so moved by it all. There are even poems by two children.

*    *    *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

Don’t forget:

Do you want to interview  NZ author?

Do you want to review a NZ book (any genre) or a poetry book from anywhere in the world?

Let me know!!!!!     paulajoygreen@gmail.com

And schools still have time to enter the Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition for Children. Go here.

 

t   h   e          m   o   o   n

I love reading poems about the moon and I love writing poems about the moon. There is something about the moon that is altogether mysterious and marvellous. It can be such a thing of beauty hanging in the sky.

So this week your challenge is to write a moon poem. It can be a poem about the moon or a poem in which the moon makes an appearance.

Tips:

Hunt for as many moon words as you can. What it looks like!

Try different endings. try different kinds of endings that makes the reader feel something different.

Try to use real detail.

What does the moon remind you of? test out different possibilities.

Think carefully about how many words you use on the line.

Which words stand out in your poem? That are particularly delicious and moon perfect.

 

DEADLINE for your Moon-Poem Challenge: Wednesday June 17th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Moon-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites and have a book for a poet.

 

photo 3

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

