My favourite food poems

I am posting my favourite two food poems. Anita‘s poem is very simple and simple poems can be a great way to create a strong image. I think Emily was inspired by a funny food poem of mine (see my note under her poem) and brought her own imagination to it. I am always happy for you to use my poems for inspiration!

Congratulations girls. I am sending you both a copy of my book The Letterbox Cat. I just need to order some more so you may have to wait a bit!

 

Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 4.33.17 PM

 

“Hmm, what’s for dinner, what’s for dinner?”

Jane asked.

“Will it be gatatoe and pravy?”

“Or sicken choup”?

“Maybe even chish and fips?”

“No,”

said Mum.

“We’re having

Potato and gravy,

Chicken soup

And,

 

Fish and chips.”

Emily R, 10yrs old, Yr. 6 who goes to Hobsonville Primary School. I think Emily was inspired by a poem I have in Macaroni Moon! It’s called ‘Nutty Food.’ I like the way she changed the second part and made the poem her own. Brava!

 

Food poems make me hungry!

 

Leave a Reply

