Poetry Bonanza Monday – off on a plane, a made-up word challenge, a hand-made book

Letterbox Cat    Letterbox Cat    Letterbox Cat    Letterbox Cat

This morning I am flying to Wellington to go to the LIANZA Children’s Book Awards which is really exciting! Lots of great children’s books have been shortlisted. I am just delighted to be a finalist and won’t be at all bothered if I don’t win my category. I get to go to Wellington!

I really like this competition as librarians pick the books. Librarians are really good at sharing good reads with children. So bravo NZ librarians! Thank you for picking my book for the shortlist.

 

 

Don’t forget I am on the hunt for children to pick a NZ author to interview. You pick – I try and set it up for you (class, reading group or an individual). It is a golden opportunity to do something special. paulajoygreen@gmail.com

I am on the hunt for children to review NZ books – any genre!   paulajoygreen@gmail.com

 

On Friday, I got given a beautiful hand-stitched book with the poems that are on my birthday present web site (https://happybirthdaypaulagreen.wordpress.com/). I was so moved. Now I can pass around the poems. I can read them when our power goes off! It goes off when it gets too windy.

Have you ever made a hand-made book? Especially a hand-made book of poems. Send me a photo and I will post it on my blog. Show me what’s inside!

photo 1  photo 2 photo 3

 

A Poetry Challenge

I love making up words. My all-time favourite poet, Margaret Mahy, loved making up words. Your challenge this week is to write a poem with at least one made-up word in it.

* You can just use one or as many as you like

* You can make up a word for a sound (like the noise of wind or rain or a cat) This is onomatopoeia

*You can take one word and play with it through the poem

hicklethump hocklethump ticklethump hahathump (oooh I might write a poem with these!)

blustery bluttery bluffery bloowhery (ooh and these)

* have fun!                                         P                l          a                    Y

* listen to the sounds and the order of words on the line

 

 

DEADLINE for your Made-Up-Word-Poem Challenge: Wednesday June 24th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email.

PLEASE say it’s for the Made-Up-Word-Poem challenge. Put in the subject line of the email please.

I will post my favourites and have a book for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

