Some of my favourite moon poems

A record number of poems arrive for the moon challenge. The moon is a really popular thing to write about. I love it because it is both beautiful and mysterious.

And such good poems. It was really hard picking just a few so I have picked just a few more than just a few as they were so good and all so different.

A number of classes sent a bundle of moon poems. Wonderful!

Congratulations if I picked you this time. If I didn’t, do have a go at another challenge.

I am sending books this time to Sophia, Ansh, Razan and Clara but every moon poem sent in deserves a book.

 

Albatross Moon

The moon is a big albatross

on the lookout.

 

The moon is

red as blood.

 

The moon sets

the sky on fire.

Sophia M (year 3)  Russley School

 

The Moon

The moon is an orb glowing big and bright.
This is the beautiful thing I see at night.
The big mysterious white circle in the sky.

It’s in the sky, up so high.

Ben H Age 11, Year 7, St Peter’s School

 

My Lunch

It feels like
cheddar
or Swiss
but rocky
and
‘floaty.’
Zero gravity…
takes rockets…
the moon….
or my lunch…
on a string
(with tomato sides).

By Clara M Age 8 Ilam School

 

Pounamu Moon

The moon is a pounamu ring

worn by one of the Gallipoli men.

It is a beaming flashlight

flickering through the night.

It is a memory

dragging me back to my Loved Ones.

Raevyn H (year 7)  Russley School

 

A full moon

A full moon is like you and me, one half for you the other for me
A full moon is like moon cheese, nom nom nom I love moon cheese

A full moon is like a dinner plate, with chocolate pudding and strawberry cake
A full moon is like you and me, together let’s have moon glee

Ansh 8 years Golden Sands School

 

Moon

Big white balloon

shining at night

floating in the sky

Moonlight

Fin C 11 years old Yr 7 St Peter’s School

 

 

HAPPY MOON by Takeru Oki jpg version

 

Space Poem

Space has a silver sliced peach that floated away from the sun

it turned cold and froze, it became our moon

there was a clear view of earth from that ancient peach

it was where aliens watched it rolling around

they wonder if we see them as they see us

I wish I had a telescope, a shining metal tube

I wish to see Jupiter and explore space,

to ask people as many questions

about things I am interested in

or to find out myself.

Izak K Y6 Russley School

 

Moon

Monstrous ball of grey marble
Oh you spin and spin around our planet
On and on you go growing and shrinking between your phases
No more of you until it falls nighttime my grey ball of marble

Nerissa 11 years old, Year 7 St Peter’s School

 

Up High

Up high the moon smiles,
glow sticks on its face,
the crystal ball that
predicts the future,
of the day to come.

Up high there’s a torch,
and a banana,
slowly but surely,
orbiting the Earth.

Up high sometimes it’s
full, sometimes it’s half,
sometimes it’s empty,
each day it changes.

Up high there’s a moon,
so far, yet so close.

Ewen W aged 12, Year 8, Cobham Intermediate School, Christchurch

 

Moon messages

I stare up at the moon,

Shining in the night.

I think of Lola,

Looking up at the same moon.

Miles and miles away.

Across the ocean.

But it’s still the same moon.

The day I left,

We made a promise,

To send our messages for each other,

To the moon.

To talk to each other.

I listen hard.

I make myself nothing.

And feel,

I miss you Freya.

Echoing through the night.

I call back,

Thinking with all my might,

I miss you too, Lola.

I hope she gets my message.

I hope the moon will hold my message for her,

Until her night-time.

Isis W 12 Years old Year 7  Selwyn House School

 

 

The Moon

The sun inhales it’s final breath
The moon grabs it’s first breath
The ball of rock lights your way
Mysterious yet delightful
The moon will always be watching you

By Ted 8 years Golden Sands School

 

 

The Shadow

The moon is a sad face

shining light down to us

 

The moon is a yellow banana

 

It is a rugby ball

flying through the stadium

 

The moon spins really fast

 

The moon shining silver shadows

on the world

Josh T. (year 4) Russley School

 

The Moon

The moon

was once

a rock in a lagoon,

before she rose into the sky,

and became something

we all admire

shining through with her angelic halo

through the shadows

with her beautiful silvery glow.

Imogen C, aged 8. Homeschooled

 

Moon

I stand next to the tide,

on the beach,

and stare up to the stars.

I reach out my hand,

thinking that it’s close enough,

but in my mind i know it’s far.

Out from the fog,

out from the shadows,

appears a circle of light.

A constant globe of beauty,

ghostly and mysterious,

that appears at night.

My name is Razan, I am Year 7 and 11 years old, I am from St Peters

 

 

Leave a Reply

