Happy Birthday Gecko Press- some poems for you!

Screen shot 2015-07-17 at 3.20.27 PM

h a p p y      b i r t  h d a y      GECKO PRESS from young New Zealand poets!

Screen shot 2015-07-17 at 3.20.35 PM

 

This was such a popular challenge it has taken me AGES to read all the fabulous poems you sent in. What a great way to celebrate Gecko Press and all the gorgeous books they publish.

I have posted far more than I usually would as it is like a birthday party post with lots of poems.

I have picked these poets to send a Gecko Press book  (thanks Gecko Press for sending me the books!). I am never to old for a Gecko Press book whatever category it is.

 

Ruby T All the Dear Little Animals

Phoebe Snake and Lizard

Grace S  My happy Life

Emma C Donkeys

Sophie B A Book is a Book

ViewImage-3 ViewImage-2 ViewImage-4ViewImage-5viewimage-4

 

Here are some of my favourites:

 

WOLF AND DOG

My dog jumped over the log into a forest
I followed him.
We shrunk
and climbed into a beehive
where we met a wolf.
We danced with it
then we all had a feast of honey.
The hive was covered in diamonds.

Ruby T Age 7, Y3, Ilam School

 
Watch out crocodile!

Watch out crocodile for the king gorilla.

Watch out crocodile for the flying undies.

Watch out crocodile for the soaring Eagles.

Watch out crocodile for the talking bears.

Watch out crocodile for the elegant leopard.

Watch out crocodile for the chocolate monster.

Watch out crocodile for the charging bull.

Watch out crocodile for the flying boy.

By Grace S Age: 10 Year 6 Paparoa Street School

 

The Cake

Sitting on the table was a little blue cake,

And delicately sitting on top was a blue and white lake!

There were orange fish and a green lily pad.

It is beautiful until it gets cut by Dad!

Phoebe Age: 8 Year: 4 Fendalton School

 

 

The King and the Sea

My streak of green

My wind wiped mane

My white roar

My blue wave

The king breaks me

Then he fixes me

He comes and he goes

He is cycle of my life

I’d try to get free

I’d leave

But I’m stuck

and I’m here for life

Let me run

Let me soar

Let me call for freedom from the the king’s world

Let me be me

I am the sea

Emma C Age: 10 Selwyn House School

 

 

When Dad showed me the universe 

When Dad showed me the universe,

he showed me all the stars,

he taught me that some are close

and some are very far.

 

He told me that in the day

the sun sits way up high,

also that there’s other planets

we can’t see in the sky.

 

And at the end of the day,

when the night sky is going dark,

then it is the moon’s time

to shine brightly in the park.

Sophie  B 10 year old girl, a Year 6 student at Paparoa Street School

 

 

The Cake

There it is,
looking yummy with its strawberry
sauce driping down the edge’s.

There it is,
screaming for chocolate ice-cream
to sit next to it and keep it company.

There it is,
waiting patiently for a rainbow of
sprinkles to fall on to it.

There it is,
all that yummy strawberry sauce,
chocolate ice-cream and sprinkles-
GONE!
Who ate the cake?!
I bet my pet Gecko did!
That naughty Gecko!

Tyler L, 11 years old, Paparoa street school in Christchurch

 

A book is a book
No matter how hard you try
It will stay as a book
As a book it will stay

It will never turn into a car
A book is a book
And that’s how it will stay.
Evie S I am eight years old and I am in Year 4. Fendalton School

 

 

Speed of Light
My feathers capture air
My talons grasp the sky
My plumage rustling in the breeze
My beak savouring the blue
They capture me
They shoot me down
They ensnare me
They trap and trick me
I’d be free if not for them
I’d glide faster than the light
But I think I can
And I think I will
Let me free
Let me glide faster than the light
Let me grasp the sky
Let me savour the blue, once more.

Harriet Compton-Moen, a 12 year old student in Year 8 at Selwyn House School

 

The Cake
The flame flickers,
coloured wax streams down,
the candles puff out,
the cake is sliced and separated,
bitten and beaten,
the life of a cake!

Ollie H Age : 10 Paparoa Street School

 

 

The king and the sea
Waves fold over the sand,
All you can hear is the soft sound of the ocean,
The king of the sea is content.

The fish swim blissfully,
they are in peace.

The fisherman up above drop down their nets.

The king of the sea is enraged,
His tranquil ocean disturbed.

By Isabella Read Age 12 Year 8 Selwyn House School

 

Speed of Light
Flashing right before
your eyes,
like the speed
of light,
or dragging ever
so slow,
like clouds roaming
the sky.

The seconds hand
rotating
with endless ticking,
blending with
the movements
of the minutes
and hours.

Right now it travels
at the speed of light
encased in it’s own place,
and it’s own
Time.

By Ewen W aged 12, Year 8, Cobham Intermediate School, Christchurch

 

Crocodile

Every day
one crocodile
walks to a tree but it doesn’t walk normally
it walks like me
He lives in a cave
and he wears a hat
but this is this
and that is that.
Liam F Fendalton School

 

The Cake

The Marshmallow cake, makes me bounce.

The bubbly cake, makes me gulp.

The pencil cake, makes me think.

The rubber cake, makes me forget.

The history cake, makes me remember.

 Ysabella H Year 4  Age: 8   School: Ilam School

 

Where is Rusty?
I have lost
My dog Rusty
He must be all dusty
In the garbage
Where is Rusty?
There you are Rusty!
You are dusty
I must give you
A bubbly bath
And Rusty said
I’m Rusty

Ruby S Age 6,   Year 2  Ilam School

 

The Cake

The cake with candles

The cake with icing,

Tastes so good,

The cake with colour,

The cake with flavour,

Tastes so nice

Oh really nice.

 

The cake with texture,

The cake with passion,

Tastes so delicious

Oh really delicious

By Cooper H Paparoa Street School

 

The Cake

The cake is humongous!

The cake is chocolate!

Just waiting…

To be gobbled

I stare longingly

At the rising cake

Which is oozing

As fast as the speed of sound

I licked my chops,

YUM!!!!!!!

Emma E Age: 8 Year: 4 Fendalton School

 

Where is Rusty?

Barbed wire,

a dog,

lying stranded,

the colour of a deer,

a black spot,

around,

his left eye,

blood,

gaping out,

of his bare legs,

in need,

of a home.

Natalie H Age: 10 yrs Year: 6 Fendalton School

 

THE CAKE
My Cousin skipped out with my cake while toppling all over the place
I held my breath
Hoping it wouldn’t tip,
she banged into the fridge
Knocking over the dip
Everyone jumped for joy
When she made it to the table
But then it slid off the table
That was the end of the cake!

Alice, I am 11 years old and go to Paparoa Street School

 

The Cake

The mountain of pudding
rises from it’s place
on a tray.

Icing, like fluffy clouds
floats on a soft sponge.

Layers of colour
meet the ceiling
and cease to move.

Jam joins slices
of cake to the next.

Toffee tunnels through
the centre and oozes out.

It’s sweet taste
leaves you waiting
for more.

Sadly its only part
of my imagination.

Vivien S 10 years old Paparoa Street School

A Book is a Book

You can take it to a nook

And have a look

It’s good for a cook

Less so for a crook

 

You can read it in the car

Or carefully in the spa

Take it near or far

Even teach yourself guitar!

 

A book can help you have a rest

Get you ready for a test

And some of the best

are published By Gecko Press!!!

By Gemma L Adventure School

 

Speed of Light

In the dark

The cheetah stalks

Muscular legs

Moonshine eyes

 

A bush moves

The cheetah sneaks

Twitching tail

Bristling fur

 

An animal races

The cheetah chases

Desert plains devoured

Fast as the Speed of Light

 

In the dark

The cheetah dashes

Successful attack

Deadly predator

Daniel L Adventure School

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Gecko Press- some poems for you!

  1. katfank2

    Hi Paula,

    My name is Kat Fankhauser, and I am in my final year at MIT studying the Bachelor of Creative Arts – Creative Writing. Because this is our final year, we need to write a book. I’m writing a children’s poetry book.

    The reason I am writing is because I have written a poem, in response to Shirley Gawith’s poem, *Scratchy Cats,* that was published in *A Treasury of NZ poems for Children *edited by yourself in 2014. I want to ask Ms Gawith if I can use this poem in my collection. I have searched for her contact details and have been unsuccessful, and thought that you may be able to past it on too her.

    Here is the poem:

    *Very Naughty Scratchy Cats*

    Some people don’t like Scratchy Cats

    like the poet, Shirley Gawith,

    because

    *They tear the paper on the wall*

    but,

    when my baby brother draws on it,

    you just tell him off,

    then make me clean the wall.

    The cats get banished outside,

    in the rain all night long,

    without any food

    because

    *They swing on the curtains pulling thread*

    but,

    Betty plays hide n seek,

    the curtains are her favourite place to hide,

    she roughly pulls them apart

    causing them to break hooks,

    all you do is tell her,

    ‘Don’t treat the curtains that way,’

    while you chop of their claws,

    with my nail clippers,

    because

    *They pounce and scratch my skin*

    but

    Bobby scratched and bit me the other day,

    gave me a black eye,

    he was only sent to his room.

    The cats don’t like the way you hold them

    scratching is the only way

    for them to say,

    ‘Don’t squeeze too hard cause

    it makes me fart.’

    ***

    Kat Fankhauser would like to acknowledge that the italics came from Shirley Gawith’s

    poem, “Scratchy Cats,” published in *A Treasury of NZ poems for Children *edited by Paula Green (2014).

    Thank you for taking the time to pass this onto her. If she doesn’t want me to use it in my collection then I will take it out.

    Kat Fankhauser

    Reply
    1. Paula Green Post author

      When you include a poem like this in your collection (and it is not being published as such) you just need to acknowledge the source of the lines you quote. You don’t need to get permission unless you publish her poem in total. What does your supervisor think? Shirley is in her 90s and hard to get hold of. You need to email me as I can’t put contact details in a public place like this. People at MIT have my contact details. I think you need to talk through these issues with youjr supervisor/tutor/lecturer first! Best wishes for your portfolio.

      Reply
      1. katfank2

        Paula.Sorry itso taken me a while to answer back. I have decided not to include the poem discussed in a previous post.
        My mentor has been coaching me throughout the year. I enjoy receiving your emails from Poetry Box and have been greatly inspired by your words and those of the children you include.
        Congratulations for winning the Children’s Choice Award. Thank you for your help and poetry.
        Kat

Leave a Reply

