Poetry Bonanza Monday: Thanks to two Nelson girls a new challenge, and countdown for the Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition results!

I am off to Wellington this week for the Children’s Book Awards. So exciting! I don’t mind about winning and losing. I enjoy meeting other authors and sharing a celebration of great writing and publishing. So a big thanks to Scholastic for publishing The Letterbox Cat.

I spent last week reading the poems sent in for The Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition. I am about to post the results this morning!

 

* * * * * *           * * * * *        * * * * *

 

Two Nelson girls, Isabelle and Evie, were so taken with The Letterbox Cat, (their Mum, the very talented Rachael Craw tweeted about it!) I gave them a weekend challenge to make their own fabulous picture poems. They were inspired by the ones I did for the book. It made my weekend to get these back. I call them picture poems but you can call them shape poems or concrete poetry. I now feel inspired to do a dog one and more food ones! Thank you.

A picture poem is when you use words to make a picture on the page.

I am going to post what they did and two of mine from the book because I am challenging you to do your own picture poem.

(I am busy doing this with schools in different ways as I am hard at work making new picture poems myself.)

 

Three top tips:

* You can use words to make an outline of something. Put the words close together so you can rub out the pencil outline and see the shape just with the words.

*You can use words to fill the pencil outline. Make sure you go right to the line so when you rub out the outline you can see the shape. The words can go in any direction.

*Picture poems should sound good too as it is the perfect time and place to play with words.

 

SCAN your poem and send to me. Check out some of mine in The Letterbox Cat.

 

DEADLINE for your Picture-Poem Challenge: Wednesday August 19th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email.

PLEASE say it’s for the Picture-Poem challenge. Put in the subject line of the email please.

I will post my favourites and have a book for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

image2

image1

photo 1 photo 2

 

2 thoughts on “Poetry Bonanza Monday: Thanks to two Nelson girls a new challenge, and countdown for the Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition results!

  1. Rachael Craw

    This is wonderful, Paula. The girls are going to feel so flash seeing they featured on your blog. They loved your poems and were excited to make their own. Thanks for being such an inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

