Some of my favourite poems from The Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition and a hidden challenge for you

 

c   o   n   g    r   a   t   u   l   a   t   i   o   n   s  !

So many fabulous poems came in for this i want to post a small collection of some of my favourites. It was hard to choose as I had so many.

What I love is the way a poem can surprise you. You know you want to go back and read it again. You know eyes and ears have been hard at work.

Congratulations young poets. You have done a fine job. I do hope you try some of my Monday challenges in term time.

A challenge for you all: If I get 30 comments on this post, I will pick one child to send a copy of A Treasury of NZ Poetry for Children. Tell me which poem you love and why. Extra points if you pick one that is not from your school!  Tell me your age, year and name of school and teacher’s email. I have an copy of Dear Heart: 150 NZ Love Poems for an adult who comments on a poem.

 

Panther

I am a cunning panther

Black as pitch black night

 

I leap quite majestically

I silently stalk my prey

 

I spring up to scale large trees

I growl like a deadly beast

 

As I am a cunning black panther

Black as pitch black night

Quin aged 10, Year 6, Hauraki School

 

Bright Green

Prickly, wet grass

yummy, juicy grapes

wobbly, slimy seaweed

bumpy, hard broccoli

Lincoln, Y2, Age 6, Barton Rural School

 

Demon

Big scary creature of the night

eagle like wings and fur not light

big scary creature of the night

claws like razors teeth like knives.

Big scary creature of the night

howling out my name

big scary creature of the night

please tell me you are tame.

Lucas, Y5, Age 9, Good Shepherd School

 

Sun

The shimmering sun.

The quailing wind smashes me.

The sand is so soft.

Logan, Y5, Age 8, Good Shepherd School

 

Night is a Fright

All the shadows on the wall make me fall, fall, fall

All the spooky sounds make me scramble

slip and fall

I try to think about my love of ponies

Bur it doesn’t help

I listen to my Mum and dad drink Sprite

oh how fizzy “oooo” what’s that sound? “ahhh”

I think only think night gives me a fright!

Jemima, Y2, Age 6, Good Shepherd School

 

The Night Sky

the stars glisten like Lake Tekapo

with the sun on it

the stars are shiny like black ice

white, like paper from the Bible

 

stars shoot through the sky

like rockets

Alex, Y6, age 10, Russley School

 

My Grandad

My grandad is as tall as a giraffe

My grandad is as friendly as a monkey

He wears blue glasses

like me

He used to sew up shirts in the air force

Now he carefully sews up my teddy bears

Josh, Y4, age 8, Russley School

 

Nana

She is as happy as a beautiful bright fish

 

She looks interested when she is watching

Chinese news

 

She helps me when I am scared

of the dark

 

She is a Chinese teacher

and artist

 

She draws flowers

fish

mermaids

turtles

and fire-breathing dragons

Sophia Y4, age 8, Russley School

 

Black Beard Dad

One time my dad caught a leaf

instead of a fish

 

He runs

a bit like Usain Bolt

 

He is a geologist

he blows up rocks

 

He wears a soft checked shirt

 

and has fillings between his teeth

like silver stars

Fergus Y3, age 7, Russley School

 

Rain

Plink, plonk, plink there is the rain

Plink, plonk, plink there it is again

Rain splashes on the roof of my house

like little girls doing tap

pitter, patter, pitter, patter

like a possum scampering

across our roof.

Meg Y3, Age 7, Carncot School

 

The Raging Bull

The ocean is an angry bull

Charging to the water’s edge

Pounding the seabed with its powerful horns

As the day goes on, he roars and roars

Carrying away sticks and stones

 

Licking his greasy hooves

The storm passes through

He sits with his head hung low

Calm and still

Waiting for the wind to blow and for the sky to turn grey

Sophie, Y6, Age 11, Carncot School

 

Monsters

There is a giant monster in my house

Searching and perching on my couch

Munching and crunching on my favourite snacks

He hears the floor crack and is tempted to look  back

I run upstairs, knock my head

Only to find another monster in my bed

Antoinette, Y6, age 11, Carncot School

 

Winter Is Here

Icing sugar is falling from a crying cloud.

White messages are falling from the sky.

White owls in the sky are dropping their feathers.

Angels are losing teeth and are dropping them.

Little girls have frozen wands,

they are making it snow.

Sabina Y3, Age 7 Arrowtown School

 

Mapua Estuary

Where the shy hermit crabs scutter away from prying hands,

Where the nimble swallows flutter while chirping their careless songs.

Where the old boats gently bob like nodding heads,

Where the flapping flags cast a jittering shadow.

Where moorings fight an endless struggle against the tide,

Where live music drifts around crimson pohutukawa.

Where an army of pines sway in chorus with the rolling breeze,

Where seagulls clutter the skies scaring away the gently peace.

Where mud flats offer a feast to the restless oyster catchers,

Where driftwood quietly slips away, away to another faraway land.

Hamish, Y8, age 12, Arrowtown School

 

Winter River

Pebbles line the riverbed,

The bare willows lie above,

Riverweed starts to freeze,

Dead leaves rustle in the wind.

 

The bare willows lie above,

Sparrows fly overhead,

Dead leaves rustle in the wind,

With the crisp smell of the air.

 

Sparrows fly overhead,

Riverweed starts to freeze,

With the crisp smell of the air,

Pebbles line the riverbed.

Sarah Y8, age 12, Arrowtown school

 

Chocolate, a musical sensation

I tear open the purple wrapper

with a satisfying rip!

The taste is soothing and mellow

like smooth jazz,

an orchestra of flavours on my tongue.

It fills me with addictive adrenaline,

once I start I cannot stop,

a drum solo in my mouth.

My taste buds explode

all the flavours in harmony,

I give in and admit defeat.

Chocolate is …

the ultimate beat.

Paddy-Kees Y8, age 12, Arrowtown School

 

Rain Guardian

If I could control the rain

I would be called the Rain Guardian

I would go to places like Egypt, Africa and Iran

And water the crops making them come to life

I would donate water for dying children and people

I can help the Earth become a better place

I can heal the hearts and souls of people in the world

BECAUSE I AM THE RAIN GUARDIAN

Anna Y6 Age 10, Fairburn School, South Auckland

 

Lonely Fox

Rain falling

leaves tumbling

fox squeaks

bush rumbling

water leaks

bees buzzing

fox drinks

spots a lynx

(unlikely),

best friends

will never end.

Clara age 8, Ilam School

 

Waiting

There is a boy waiting on  a fence.

Waiting, just waiting

for his father to come home.

There is a woman looking out a window down a gravel road

waiting.

Waiting for her lover to come home,

home from the horrible battlefield

 

There is a mother with wrinkles of age painted on her face

sitting on a porch rocking back and forth, waiting.

Waiting for a child to come home.

She waits for the horror to end.

 

Waiting just waiting.

 

For a son,

a husband,

a father,

a man.

Waiting, just waiting

for a loved one to come home.

Jackson, Y8, age 12, Chisnallwood Intermediate, Christchurch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Some of my favourite poems from The Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition and a hidden challenge for you

  1. ewen2607

    Some really awesome poems! My favourite would have to be Fergus’ poem (Russley School). It flows really nicely and creates a clear picture in my mind. I especially love the last line! Well done.

    Reply
  2. Madeleine

    Wonderful poems! Thank you for sharing. I love Alex’s The Night Sky for its lyricism, vivid imagery, and lovely juxtaposition of morning and night, light and dark – showing the similarities in what we normally think of as opposites. The poem’s rhythm flows nicely, and enjambment in the last line break really works for me especially.

    I also love seeing other poets find meaning in the use of limited punctuation and rejection of capitals as I do in my own poetry 🙂

    –Madeleine L., 23 years old, primary school student teacher

    Reply
  3. Fleur Coleman

    Favourites in this batch for me: 1. the fusion of chocolate and jazz, (perfect for the chocoholics among us all). 2. The stunning idea of rain and little tap dancing girls (especially as Wednesday at our library brings in many little girls in dance attire). 3. The grandparent poems, demonstrating that across cultures – we love these inspirational people who share their time with us. Thanks for sharing, what talent!

    Reply
  4. Elinor Horner

    What a terrific bunch of poems. I love Sabina’s poem, especially. This past winter in Boston, Massachusetts, we had over three meters of snow on the ground. I would rather have had just some “icing sugar”! My grandson Sam, who is also 8 years old, wrote a poem about winter, too. I’ve copied it below.
    A COLD DAY OF SADNESS
    A cold day of sadness in the air.
    A breeze as icy as the north circle blizzard.
    A song so lovely to my ears.
    So bring along a coat.

    Reply
    1. Maude Ryan

      This is a brilliant way of displaying children’s thoughts via poems. I too loved Sabina’s poem but also all the competitors’ poems were brilliant.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

