Poetry Bonanza Monday: a funny challenge and my Spike Milligan story

You can see from my last post I had a fabulous time at Storylines Family Day.

This week I am challenging you to write a poem that is funny. I love writing poems that make me laugh and make children laugh as you will know from my books Macaroni Moon and The Letterbox Cat.

 

1.Listen to your poem and make sure it sounds good.

2. It might be funny in the last line – a wee surprise.

3. You can write poems that are funny without using bottom humour (poo and so on!)

4. Some funny poems tell a story.

5. Some funny poems play with words like Dr Seuss did.

6. Some funny poems are about something that happened to you.

7. Some funny poems are made up.

 

 

 

DEADLINE for your Funny-Poem Challenge: Wednesday September 9th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email.

PLEASE say it’s for the Funny-Poem challenge. Put in the subject line of the email please.

I will post my favourites and have a book for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8).

 

Thanks to the fabulously generous, poetry-loving Lovewell Family, I have a really really really awesome funny poem book to give away: Silly Verse for Kids by Spike Milligan.  Thank you so much!

 

My Spike Milligan story: I used to live in London a long time ago. One day I was walking down the road and who should come cycling towards me – Spike Milligan. I started laughing, so he started laughing, so we were both laughing really hard. So hard he nearly fell off his bike. He gave me a wave and a big HAHAHAW! and cycled off wobbling and teetering but never quite hitting the ground. Phew!

 

 

Leave a Reply

